Joel Embiid hoists MVP trophy

Joel Embiid Named To 2022-23 Kia All-NBA First Team

Embiid becomes the first 76er to be named All-NBA First Team since Allen Iverson in 2004-05

2022-23 NBA MVP led Philadelphia to third-best record in NBA while claiming second straight scoring crown

PHILADELPHIA – MAY 2, 2023 – The NBA announced today that Philadelphia 76ers six-time All-Star center Joel Embiid has been named to the 2022-23 Kia All-NBA First Team, after last week earning the league’s Most Valuable Player award. This represents the first career First Team honor for Embiid, and the fifth time he’s been selected to an All-NBA team.  

Embiid led the NBA in scoring this season at 33.1 points per game, claiming his second scoring title in as many seasons. He is the first NBA player to win consecutive scoring titles since teammate James Harden did so three straight times from 2017-18 to 2019-20, and the second 76er in franchise history to accomplish the feat (Allen Iverson, 2000-01 and 2001-02).  

The Cameroonian also added a team-best 10.2 rebounds, making him the first player since the 1976-77 ABA-NBA merger to average 33.0 points and 10.0 rebounds in a single season. He also shot 54.8% from the field, becoming the third player in NBA history to produce such averages in points, rebounds, and field goal percentage (Wilt Chamberlain – 1965-66; Kareem Abdul-Jabbar – 1971-72). 

Embiid reached the 50-point mark a career-best three times in 2022-23, becoming the third player in franchise history to produce at least three 50-point games in a season (2 – Chamberlain, Iverson). He scored a career-high 59 points (19-28 FG) against Utah on Nov. 13 and tallied 11 rebounds, eight assists, and seven blocked shots, making him the first player in NBA history to produce such a stat line. 

Embiid led Philadelphia to a 54-28 record, marking the team’s best since the 2000-01 campaign. 

This First Team honor represents the first by a 76er since Iverson in 2004-05. He is the ninth player in franchise history to be selected to the First Team. 


  • Dolph Schayes (6): 1951-52; 1952-53; 1953-54; 1954-55; 1956-57; 1957-58
  • Julius Erving (5): 1977-78; 1979-80; 1980-81; 1981-82; 1982-83
  • Charles Barkley (4): 1987-88; 1988-89; 1989-90; 1990-91
  • Wilt Chamberlain (3): 1965-66; 1966-67; 1967-68 
  • Billy Cunningham (3): 1968-69; 1969-70; 1970-71
  • Allen Iverson (3): 1998-99; 2000-01; 2004-05
  • Moses Malone (2): 1982-83; 1984-85 
  • George McGinnis (1): 1975-1976 
  • Joel Embiid (1): 2022-23