NBA J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award Winners

NBA History: Awards

 A year-by-year list of the NBA J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award winners. The honor, named after the NBA’s second commissioner, is presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA) to a player, coach or athletic trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community.

YEAR         PLAYER(S)     TEAM(S)
2018-19     Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
2017-18     J.J. Barea, Dallas Mavericks
2016-17     LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2015-16     Wayne Ellington, Brooklyn Nets
2014-15     Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls
2013-14     Luol Deng, Cleveland Cavaliers
2012-13     Kenneth Faried, Denver Nuggets
2011-12     Pau Gasol, Los Angeles Lakers
2010-11     Ron Artest, Los Angeles Lakers
2009-10     Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia 76ers
2008-09     Dikembe Mutombo, Houston Rockets
2007-08     Chauncey Billups, Detroit Pistons
2006-07     Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2005-06     Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
2004-05     Eric Snow, Cleveland Cavaliers
2003-04     Reggie Miller, Indiana Pacers
2002-03     David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
2001-02     Alonzo Mourning, Miami Heat
2000-01     Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00     Vlade Divac, Sacramento Kings
1998-99     Brian Grant, Portland Trail Blazers
1997-98     Steve Smith, Atlanta Hawks
1996-97     P.J. Brown, Miami Heat
1995-96     Chris Dudley, Portland Trail Blazers
1994-95     Joe O'Toole, Atlanta Hawks
1993-94     Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons
1992-93     Terry Porter, Portland Trail Blazers
1991-92     Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
1990-91     Kevin Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90     Doc Rivers, Atlanta Hawks
1988-89     Thurl Bailey, Utah Jazz
1987-88     Alex English, Denver Nuggets
1986-87     Isiah Thomas, Detroit Pistons
1985-86     Rory Sparrow/Michael Cooper, New York Knicks/Los Angeles Lakers
1984-85     Dan Issel, Denver Nuggets
1983-84     Frank Layden, Utah Jazz
1982-83     Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers
1981-82     Kent Benson, Detroit Pistons
1980-81     Mike Glenn, New York Knicks
1979-80     Austin Carr, Cleveland Cavaliers
1978-79     Calvin Murphy, Houston Rockets
1977-78     Bob Lanier, Detroit Pistons
1976-77     Dave Bing, Washington Bullets
1975-76     Slick Watts, Seattle SuperSonics
1974-75     Wes Unseld, Washington Bullets

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.