Bulls to participate in NBA Summer League 2013

NEW YORK, May 29, 2013 – Twenty-two teams, including squads featuring eight of the top 10 selections in the 2013 NBA Draft, will vie for a championship – televised live on NBA TV – at NBA Summer League 2013 in Las Vegas at the Thomas & Mack Center and COX Pavilion on the campus of the University of Nevada Las Vegas, the NBA announced today.

From July 12-22, 21 NBA teams and a team of NBA D-League Select players will compete for the inaugural NBA Summer League title. This year’s field includes 11 of this season’s NBA Playoff teams, along with 10 non-playoff teams, including the Cleveland Cavaliers and Washington Wizards, participants in every NBA Summer League in Las Vegas since the league’s inception in 2004. The Cavaliers and Wizards will select first and third, respectively, in the 2013 NBA Draft, which will be held in Brooklyn at Barclays Center on Thursday, June 27, 2013.

The ninth NBA Summer League in Las Vegas tips off on Friday, July 12, and will conclude with a championship game on Monday, July 22. All participating teams will play a minimum of five games. After the conclusion of games on July 16, all teams will have completed three games and will be seeded for single-elimination tournament play that will lead to a champion being crowned on July 22.

Below is a complete list of teams that will participate in NBA Summer League 2013 (years participated):

Atlanta Hawks (2010-12)*
Charlotte Bobcats (2008, 2012)
Chicago Bulls (2005, 2009-12)*
Cleveland Cavaliers (2004-12)
Dallas Mavericks (2005-12)
Denver Nuggets (2004-12)*
D-League Select (2009-12)
Golden State Warriors (2005-12)*
L.A. Clippers (2005-12)*
L.A. Lakers (2007-12)*
Memphis Grizzlies (2007-12)*
Miami Heat (2010-12)*
Milwaukee Bucks (2007-12)*
Minnesota Timberwolves (2006-12)
New Orleans Pelicans (2005-12)
New York Knicks (2005-12)*
Phoenix Suns (2004-12)
Portland Trail Blazers (2005-12)
Sacramento Kings (2005-12)
San Antonio Spurs (2007-12)*
Toronto Raptors (2008-12)
Washington Wizards (2004-12)
*Indicates 2012-13 NBA Playoff team

NBA TV will televise a full slate of NBA Summer League games with the complete schedule to be announced at a later date. Live game action will also extend across digital platforms.

NBA Summer League has featured teams whose rosters included seven of the last eight NBA Rookie of the Year award winners: Chris Paul (New Orleans, 2005-06), Brandon Roy (Portland, 2006-07), Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City, 2007-08), Tyreke Evans (Sacramento, 2009-10), Blake Griffin (L.A. Clippers, 2010-11), Kyrie Irving (Cleveland, 2011-12) and Damian Lillard (Portland, 2012-13).

Tickets for NBA Summer League 2013 will go on sale June 1, at 10 a.m. PDT. Fans will be able to purchase tickets by calling 702-739-FANS, through UNLVtickets.com or by visiting any UNLV ticket outlet.