Warriors Clinch Pacific Division Title

Warriors Clinch Pacific Division Title

Team Earns Consecutive Division Crowns for First Time in 40 Years

The Golden State Warriors have clinched the 2015-16 Pacific Division title by virtue of Cleveland’s 114-90 win over the Los Angeles Clippers this afternoon, giving the franchise its first back-to-back Pacific Division crowns since the club won consecutive division titles in 1974-75 and 1975-76.

Golden State has earned the franchise’s fourth Pacific Division championship since the NBA began using the current divisional format in 1970-71. Warriors Head Coach Steve Kerr is the first head coach to win back-to-back division titles in his first two years at the helm since Tom Thibodeau earned consecutive Central Division titles with the Chicago Bulls in 2010-11 and 2011-12. Among the four major professional sports leagues, the Warriors are the first Bay Area team to earn consecutive division crowns since the Oakland Athletics won back-to-back West Division titles in 2012 and 2013.

The Warriors, who are slated to make their fourth-straight playoff appearance for the first time since qualifying for the postseason in each of the first six years of the league’s existence (1946-47 to 1951-52), own a 59-6 (.908) record on the season, the best record in NBA history through 65 games. Golden State’s 59 wins are tied for the second-most in team history, following last season’s franchise-record 67 wins.

Sign up and be the first to know when tickets become available and receive presale access.

Related Content


  • Facebook
  • Twitter