This Week in NBA History: Week of Sept. 17

USA Basketball announced the 'Dream Team' for the 1992 Olympics and Ron Artest legally changes his name to Metta World Peace.

Members of the 1992 U.S. National Team reflect on the hard work and good times they experienced at the 1992 Summer Olympics.

Below is a day-by-day look at landmark moments, games, performances and more from this week in NBA lore.

Sept. 17, 1999

The NBA Board of Governors approved several playing rules modifications for the 1999-2000 season. The modifications had been recommended by a special committee of current and former players, general managers, coaches and other basketball experts last June and were tested in several NBA summer leagues.

They are: A defender may not make contact with his hands and/or forearms on an offensive player except below the free throw line extended; A five-second rule that mandates that a player must either shoot, pass or pick up his dribble within five seconds if he begins dribbling the ball with his back toward the basket below the free throw line extended; The 24-second shot clock will be re-set to 14 seconds if the violations listed below occur with less than 14 seconds remaining on the 24-second clock, and will remain unchanged if the violation occurs with 14 or more seconds remaining on the 24-second clock: 1. A personal foul that does not result in free throw attempts. 2. Kicking the ball or blocking the ball with any part of the leg. 3. Punching the ball with a fist. 4. An illegal defense violation that does not result in free throw attempts; No illegal defense guidelines will apply to a player who is defending an offensive player who is positioned on the strong side of the court.

Sept. 17, 2011

Ron Artest, the player at the center of the infamous “Malice at the Palace”, legally changes his name to Metta World Peace.

Sept. 20

Sept. 20, 1917

Arnold “Red” Auerbach was born in Brooklyn, New York.

Sept. 21

Sept. 21, 1991

USA Basketball announced the “Dream Team” for the 1992 Olympics. Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Patrick Ewing, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen, David Robinson, and John Stockton were named. Christian Laettner and Clyde Drexler were named to the team on May 12, 1992.