2022-23 NBA Awards

Mike Conley wins 2022-23 NBA Sportsmanship award

The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court.

Mike Conley has now won the Sportsmanship Award four times, most in league history.

Full voting results
2022-23 NBA awards

• NBA Sportsmanship award winners

Minneapolis/St. Paul – The NBA today announced Minnesota Timberwolves guard Mike Conley is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy for winning the 2022-23 NBA Sportsmanship Award. The annual award is designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court. Each NBA team nominated one of its players for the NBA Sportsmanship Award. From the list of 30 team nominees, a panel of league executives selected one finalist from each of the NBA’s six divisions. Current NBA players selected the winner from the list of six finalists, with nearly 300 players submitting their votes through confidential balloting conducted by the league office.

This is the fourth such honor of Conley’s career, the most in league history, after winning the award as a member of the Memphis Grizzlies in 2013-14, 2015-16 and 2018-19. He becomes the first player in Timberwolves history to win the award.

In his 16th NBA season, Conley appeared in 67 games (66 starts) for the Timberwolves and Utah Jazz, averaging 11.9 points and a 42.8% shooting along with 6.7 assists per game. On Apr. 8 at San Antonio (Austin), Conley finished with 20 points on 6-of-9 shooting, including 5-of-7 shooting and five assists. It marked Conley’s fifth game this season with 5+ triples, his most such games with five or more threes in a single season is eight during the 2016-17 season. With his basket at the 7:17 mark of the fourth quarter on Apr. 8, Conley reached 15,000 career points, becoming the 149th player in NBA history to surpass 15,000 career points.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award trophy is named in honor of Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, a six-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA champion. Dumars played 14 NBA seasons and won the inaugural Sportsmanship Award in the 1995-96 season.

A year-by-year list of the recipients of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the NBA Sportsmanship Award winners:

2022-23 — Mike Conley, Minnesota Timberwolves (Voting)
2021-22 — Patty Mills, Brooklyn Nets (Voting)
2020-21 — Jrue Holiday, Milwaukee Bucks (Voting)
2019-20 — Vince Carter, Atlanta Hawks (Voting)
2018-19 — Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies (Voting)
2017-18 — Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets (Voting)
2016-17 — Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets (Voting)
2015-16 — Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies
2014-15 — Kyle Korver, Atlanta Hawks
2013-14 — Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies
2012-13 — Jason Kidd, New York Knicks
2011-12 — Jason Kidd, Dallas Mavericks
2010-11 — Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
2009-10 — Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns
2008-09 — Chauncey Billups, Denver Nuggets
2007-08 — Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns
2006-07 — Luol Deng, Chicago Bulls
2005-06 — Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2004-05 — Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
2003-04 — P.J. Brown, New Orleans Hornets
2002-03 — Ray Allen, Seattle SuperSonics
2001-02 — Steve Smith, San Antonio Spurs
2000-01 — David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
1999-00 — Eric Snow, Philadelphia 76ers
1998-99 — Hersey Hawkins, Seattle SuperSonics
1997-98 — Avery Johnson, San Antonio Spurs
1996-97 — Terrell Brandon, Cleveland Cavaliers
1995-96 — Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons