David Robinson Inducted Into The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008

Colorado Springs, Colo. (Apr. 15, 2008) - The U.S. Olympic Committee
today announced that three-time basketball Olympian David Robinson will
be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Presented by Allstate as
a member of the distinguished Class of 2008. The induction ceremony will
take place June 19 in Chicago at the Joan W. and Irving B. Harris
Theater. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008 is comprised of
nine Olympians, one Paralympian, an Olympic Coach, Veteran, Team and
Special Contributor.

A member of the historic 1992 Dream Team in Barcelona, David Robinson,
A.K.A. "The Admiral," is the only U.S. men's basketball player to be
named to three Olympic teams and has played on a total of nine USA
Basketball teams. He has collected five gold medals, one silver and one
bronze medal while helping USA teams to an overall record of 61-6 (.910
winning percentage).

"It's a tremendous honor for David to be inducted into the U.S. Olympic
Hall of Fame, and he certainly deserves this recognition," said USA
Basketball Executive Director Jim Tooley. "USA Basketball is very proud
of David's contributions to the game of basketball and to the community
in general, and we are pleased that his legacy will be preserved in the
U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. He has compiled an incredible history of
service, dedication and success, and he truly represents the best of
what an athlete can be."

Robinson won gold medals in the 1992 and 1996 Olympics, 1992 Tournament
of the Americas, 1986 World Championship and 1986 Goodwill Games; he won
a silver medal in the 1987 Pan American Games; and a bronze medal in the
1988 Olympics. Additionally, he represented the USA as a member of the
1988 Select Team and 1985 FIBA World Club Championship Team.

Also inducted in the Class of 2008 were Wrestler Bruce Baumgartner,
athletics athlete Joan Benoit, figure skater Brian Boitano, boxer Oscar
de La Hoya, equestrian J. Michael Plumb, swimmer Amy Van Dyken, shooter
Lones W. Wigger, Jr. and Paralympic swimmer John Morgan as individuals.
Figure skating coach Carlo Fassi will be inducted in the Coach category
along with Olympic figure skating gold medalist Carol Heiss Jenkins in
the Veteran category. The members of the 1996 Women's Gymnastics Team -
Amanda Borden, Amy Chow, Dominique Dawes, Shannon Miller, Dominique
Moceanu, Jaycie Phelps and Kerri Strug - will also be honored in the
Team category, as will legendary Hollywood producer Frank Marshall as
the Special Contributor.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, an awards-show style
ceremony for which Kleenex and AT&T are associate sponsors, will air in
a nationally-televised broadcast this summer.

"The legacies and contributions of this year's honorees will now live
forever as they join our country's greatest Olympians in the U.S.
Olympic Hall of Fame," said Lisa Cochrane, vice president of marketing
at Allstate. "As a sponsor of the Hall of Fame since its celebrated
revitalization in 2004, Allstate is proud to help protect and preserve
this important part of our identity and source of American pride."

Beginning today, tickets to the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction
Ceremony can be purchased at www.usolympichalloffame.com

David Robinson

The USA's only three-time male basketball Olympian and one of only seven
U.S. basketball athletes (Anne Donovan, Teresa Edwards, Lisa Leslie,
Katrina McClain, Dawn Staley and Sheryl Swoopes) to be named to three or
more Olympic teams, Robinson was twice named USA Basketball's Male
Athlete of the Year (1986 and co-recipient as a member of the 1992 U.S.
Olympic Team).

Considered by many to be one of the top centers of his era, Robinson
also compiled an impressive NBA career. The No. 1 pick in the 1987 NBA
Draft by the San Antonio Spurs, Robinson aided San Antonio to a pair of
NBA titles (1999, 2003) and earned the following honors: NBA MVP (1995);
Defensive Player of the Year (1992); Rookie of the Year (1990); All-NBA
First Team (1991, 1992, 1995, 1996); All-NBA Second Team (1994, 1998);
All-NBA Third Team (1990, 1993, 2000, 2001); All-Defensive First Team
(1991, 1992, 1995, 1996); All-Defensive Second Team (1990, 1993, 1994,
1998); 10-time NBA All-Star; NBA Sportsmanship Award (2001); One of the
50 Greatest Players in NBA History (1996).

A 1987 U.S. Naval Academy graduate with a mathematics degree, Robinson,
who took a leave of absence from the Navy to compete on the 1988 U.S.
Olympic Team, honored a commitment to serve two years in the Navy before
joining the NBA. Defined by his actions off the court even more than on
the court, in recognition of his outstanding efforts in 2003 the NBA
re-named its award for outstanding charitable efforts after Robinson.
The monthly NBA Community Assist Award winners now receive the David
Robinson Plaque. Among his charitable achievements was a $9 million
commitment toward the construction and operation of The Carver Academy,
an independent school for San Antonio students from a culturally diverse
community. Considered the single largest gift ever made by a
professional athlete, the school benefits many low-income, at-risk
students. The school offers elementary-age children a challenging
academic program featuring small classes, leadership opportunities and a
nurturing family-like environment.

About the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to celebrate the
achievements of America's premier athletes in the modern Olympic Games.
The first U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class was inducted in 1983 during
ceremonies in Chicago. That Charter Class, which included Olympic Greats
such as Jesse Owens, Jim Thorpe and Cassius Clay, remains the largest
group (20 individuals and one team) ever inducted. In 2004, after a
12-year hiatus, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was revived through the
support of the Allstate Insurance Company as the presenting sponsor.

To date, 213 athletes (including seven U.S. teams), coaches, and 13
special contributors to the U.S. Olympic Movement have been enshrined in
the U.S. Olympic Hall of Hame. From the Charter Class of 1983 to the
2008 inductees, Hall members represent an American honor roll of
athletic ambassadors representing the ideals of brotherhood and fair


  • Facebook
  • Twitter