Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award Winners

Carmelo Anthony was the winner of the the inaugural Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion in 2021.

Carmelo Anthony wins Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award

Carmelo Anthony is named the inaugural Social Justice Champion award winner for the 2020-21 NBA season.

NBA History: Awards

A year-by-year list of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award winners, a new annual honor that will recognize a current NBA player for pursuing social justice and upholding the league’s decades-long values of equality, respect and inclusion. The award is named after six-time NBA champion and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.  The recipient will have advanced Abdul-Jabbar’s mission to drive change and inspired others to reflect on injustice and take collective action in their communities over the previous year.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Champion Award Winners:

2020-21: Carmelo Anthony (Portland Trail Blazers)


NBA Logo

Want every headline right at your fingertips? Sign up to receive NBA emails!

By clicking "Submit", you agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. You agree that your personal information will be used to send you messages about NBA related products and services, and share your personal information with NBA partners and affiliates so that they can also contact you about products and services that might be of interest to you.