Jamario Moon Selected for 2008 Sprite Slam Dunk

(TORONTO - January 21, 2008) -- Raptors forward Jamario Moon was selected to participate in the 2008 Sprite Slam Dunk during the NBA All-Star Weekend in New Orleans, the NBA announced today. Overall, there were four players chosen to compete in the event on Saturday, February 16 at New Orleans Arena.

Moon will join Rudy Gay of the Memphis Grizzlies, Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic and Gerald Green of the Minnesota Timberwolves, who won the event last year as a member of the Boston Celtics.

Through 37 games this season, Moon is averaging 8.3 points and currently ranks second among rookies with 6.5 rebounds and 1.62 blocks. The 27-year-old native of Goodwater, Ala. has started in 35 games and led the team in rebounding 10 times. He set a career-high with 13 rebounds December 1 at Washington and scored a career-high 17 points January 19 at Philadelphia. Moon leads all rookies with 1.00 steals per game and ranks among the among the rookie leaders in minutes (29.5), field goal percentage (.459) and assists (1.1).

Moon joins former Raptors Vince Carter and Tracy McGrady as the only players in team history to be invited to the slam dunk contest. Carter and McGrady participated together in the 2000 contest at Golden State. Carter won the event, while McGrady finished in third.

Former Raptors Dee Brown and Fred Jones also won the event as members of different teams. Brown won the 1991 slam dunk title during his rookie season as a member of the Boston Celtics, while Jones won the 2004 event as a member of the Indiana Pacers.

For the first time, fans will have the final say in deciding the winner of the Sprite Slam Dunk competition. Following the concluding round of dunks, fans will be able to cast their votes via SMS TXT message and at NBA.com to determine this year’s winner. The dunker with the most fan votes will be named the winner of the Sprite Slam Dunk. A panel of judges will continue to play a key role by determining which two participants advance to the final round. During the final round, each judge’s vote will count the same as a fan vote.

The dunker with the lowest total score from the first round will compete first in the final round. Dunks then will alternate until each player has completed two. Time limit rules still apply. After the four finals dunks are completed, fan voting polls will open via SMS TXT message and at NBA.com. Each judge will then provide commentary on the dunkers and hold up a placard with his vote for the winner. The judge’s votes will be combined with the SMS TXT and NBA.com votes to determine the champion.

The Sprite Slam Dunk is part of NBA All-Star 2008 , which also includes the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam; Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout; PlayStation® Skills Challenge; Haier Shooting Stars; NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas; and the 57th NBA All-Star Game.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter