2020-21 NBA Awards

LaMelo Ball, Anthony Edwards headline 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie Teams

NBA All-Rookie First Team also features Sacramento’s Tyrese Haliburton, Detroit’s Saddiq Bey and Houston’s Jae’Sean Tate.

NEW YORK — Charlotte Hornets guard LaMelo Ball and Minnesota Timberwolves guard Anthony Edwards have been unanimously selected to the 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie First Team, the NBA announced today. Ball, the 2020-21 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year, and Edwards received NBA All-Rookie First Team votes on all 99 ballots from a global panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Joining Ball and Edwards (198 total points each) on the 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie First Team are Sacramento Kings guard Tyrese Haliburton (197 points; 98 First Team votes), Detroit Pistons forward Saddiq Bey (162 points; 63 First Team votes) and Houston Rockets forward Jae’Sean Tate (154 points; 57 First Team votes).

Ball led first-year NBA players in assists (6.1 apg) and steals (1.59 spg) and ranked second in scoring (15.7 ppg) and rebounding (5.9 rpg). He won the first three Kia NBA Eastern Conference Rookie of the Month awards. Edwards, the first overall pick in the 2020 NBA Draft, averaged a rookie-high 19.3 points per game. He was named the Kia NBA Western Conference Rookie of the Month in each of the final three months of the season.

Haliburton, who won the first two Kia NBA Western Conference Rookie of the Month awards, ranked third among rookies in scoring (13.0 ppg) and second in assists (5.3 apg). Bey, the 19th overall pick in the 2020 NBA Draft, made a rookie-leading 175 three-pointers and was named the NBA Eastern Conference Player of the Week for Week 8. Tate, who was not selected in the 2018 NBA Draft, averaged 11.3 points and 5.3 rebounds with the Rockets after playing last season for the Sydney Kings in Australia’s National Basketball League.

The 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie Second Team consists of New York Knicks guard Immanuel Quickley (148 points), Memphis Grizzlies guard Desmond Bane (88), Pistons center Isaiah Stewart (71), Cleveland Cavaliers guard-forward Isaac Okoro (53) and Chicago Bulls forward Patrick Williams (50).

The media voting panel selected five players for the NBA All-Rookie First Team and five players for the NBA All-Rookie Second Team at any position. Players received two points for each First Team vote and one point for each Second Team vote.

The voting results for the 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie Team are below.  The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP.  Complete ballots for each voter for the NBA All-Rookie Team and the league’s other end-of-season awards will be posted at PR.NBA.com on Friday, June 18.

Below are the other players who received votes for the 2020-21 NBA All-Rookie Team.

Other Players Receiving Votes

Player (Team) First Team Votes
(2 Points)
Second Team Votes
(1 Point)
Facundo Campazzo (Denver) 3 36 42
Cole Anthony (Orlando) 1 38 40
James Wiseman (Golden State) 3 18 24
Payton Pritchard (Boston) 0 20 20
Jaden McDaniels (Minnesota) 1 13 15
Tyrese Maxey (Philadelphia) 0 9 9
Théo Maledon (Oklahoma City) 0 5 5
Xavier Tillman (Memphis) 0 4 4
KJ Martin (Houston) 0 3 3
Chuma Okeke (Orlando) 0 2 2
Devin Vassell (San Antonio) 0 1 1
Aleksej Pokuševski (Oklahoma City) 0 1 1