Trail Blazers License Plates Available Now

The Portland Trail Blazers specialty license plate authorized by the 2015 Oregon Legislature is now available for Oregon passenger vehicles. The plate is only for passenger vehicles titled and registered in Oregon.

In addition to regular title, registration and plate manufacturing fees, the Trail Blazers specialty plate has a $40 surcharge due when you first order the plate and at each registration renewal. The surcharge is the same amount for four-year or two-year registration periods. Surcharge funds will go to the Trail Blazers Foundation. For more information on the foundation, visit DMV cannot reserve specific number-letter configurations for license plates. Also, DMV does not sell “sample” versions of license plates.

Custom (vanity) and Amateur Radio Operator (HAM radio) versions will be available on the Trail Blazers plate.

People can apply for new license plates by mail, at DMV field offices, or through licensed vehicle dealers when they purchase a car. Customers cannot replace vehicle plates through online registration renewal or through DEQ emissions testing stations (emissions tests are required only in parts of the Portland and Medford metropolitan areas).

The cost of a set of plates depends upon when and how a vehicle owner applies for a new set. Here are two common scenarios:

1. Plates ordered within 120 days before a vehicle’s stickers expire:

  • Trail Blazers surcharge: $40 (also paid at each registration renewal)
  • Plate fee: $24 for the pair
  • Plate replacement fee: $5
  • Registration renewal: $86 (Multnomah County residents add $38)
  • Total: $155 ($193 in Multnomah County)

2. Plates ordered more than 120 days before a vehicle’s stickers expire:

  • Trail Blazers surcharge: $40 (also paid at every two-year renewal)
  • Plate fee: $24 for the pair
  • Plate replacement fee: $10
  • Total: $74 (registration and renewal fees due prior to sticker expiration)

People who purchase a new or used vehicle from a licensed dealer may order Trail Blazers plates as part of the car-buying process. Dealers file title and registration applications with DMV on behalf of car buyers. When buying a car, there are charges in addition to those listed above, such as title fees and dealer processing charges.

To order new plates from DMV more than 120 days before a vehicle’s stickers expire, customers need to fill out an Application for Registration, Renewal, Replacement or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers, Form 268. Customers can get this form at their local DMV office to apply for the plate in person, or they can save a trip to DMV by downloading it at and apply by mailing in the application and fees. Before going to any DMV office, the agency suggests that you first check to make sure you have everything you need and view current wait times for the large DMV offices. Common transactions such as renewing vehicle registration, changing your address, and reporting the sale of a vehicle can be done online. 


  • Facebook
  • Twitter