Indianapolis, April 14, 2007 – Three generations of Pacers players headlined the 40th Anniversary Team announced by the Indiana Pacers and voted on by more than 40,000 fans.

The 40th Anniversary Team will be honored during a special halftime ceremony on Sunday, April 15, when the Pacers host the New Jersey Nets at 3:30 p.m.

Reggie Miller, the franchise's all-time leading scorer who, in 2000, led the Pacers to their only NBA Finals appearance, topped all vote-getters with 31,513 votes. Mel Daniels, the anchor of the teams that won three ABA championships, was second with 22,585 votes, while current Pacers forward Jermaine O'Neal finished third with 22,277.

Fans that voted for the 40th Anniversary Team were able to select up to 12 players from a list of 40 players. After voting, fans could choose to enter to win a customized 1967 Chevy Camaro. Fans were also eligible to win an authentic autographed jersey of a current Pacers player and two Lower Level tickets to a game.

The customized 1967 Chevy Camaro will be given away on Fan Appreciation Night on April 18 as the Pacers host the Washington Wizards at 8:00 p.m. The 1967 Chevy Camaro represents the first year of the Pacers franchise, as well as the first year that Chevrolet produced the Camaro. The 1967 Chevy Camaro was also the pace car at the 1967 Indianapolis 500.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter