NBA 75th Anniversary Season

NBA 75: Top 15 coaches in league history revealed

Red Auerbach, Gregg Popovich and Phil Jackson headline list of legendary coaches in honor of 75th anniversary.

Click here for more information about each coach

NEW YORK — The National Basketball Association today unveiled the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History as part of the continuing celebration of the league’s 75th Anniversary Season.  The list was selected by a panel of 43 current and former NBA head coaches in collaboration with the National Basketball Coaches Association, which is led by President Rick Carlisle, the head coach of the Indiana Pacers, and Executive Director & General Counsel David Fogel.

The 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History, as revealed on TNT, are listed below in alphabetical order.


Red Auerbach K.C. Jones Pat Riley
Larry Brown Steve Kerr* Doc Rivers*
Chuck Daly Don Nelson Jerry Sloan
Red Holzman Gregg Popovich* Erik Spoelstra*
Phil Jackson Jack Ramsay Lenny Wilkens

*Active NBA Head Coaches

The 15 honorees have collectively won more than 14,000 regular-season games, guided teams to 45 NBA championships and earned 16 NBA Coach of the Year awards across more than 300 head coaching seasons.

The voters were asked to select the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History without ranking them.  The panelists were not allowed to vote for themselves.  Click here for the voting panel, which was composed of all 30 current NBA head coaches and 13 former NBA head coaches.  The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP.