2022 All-Star

Team Barry wins Clorox Rising Stars, Cade Cunningham named MVP

The No. 1 overall pick of the 2021 NBA Draft put all his skills on display on Friday night of All-Star weekend.

The mini-tournament format didn't disappoint on All-Star Friday with Cade Cunningham and Team Barry defeating Team Isiah in the title game.

Championship Final:
Team Barry 25, Team Isiah 20 | Boxscore

#1: Team Isiah 50, Team Worthy 49 | Boxscore
#2: Team Barry 50, Team Payton 48 | Boxscore

Most Valuable Player: Cade Cunningham, Pistons

Rookies Cade Cunningham and Franz Wagner came up clutch in the final of the Clorox Rising Stars at All-Star 2022, capping a 25-20 victory for Team Barry over Team Isiah. Cunningham drained a trail 3 to give his squad a 24-20 lead, and on the next possession, he found Wagner on a back-door cut. Wagner was fouled and sunk his first free throw to cap a closing, 13-2 run for Team Barry, which trailed 18-12.

Cunningham was named Rising Stars MVP, totaling 18 points, seven rebounds, nine assists, two steals and two blocks in Team Barry’s two wins.

Rising Stars MVP Cade Cunningham scores 18 points over 2 games, helping Team Barry open All-Star 2022 in style with a pair of exciting victories.

This was the first year of a new Rising Stars format, with four teams of seven players – made up of 12 rookies, 12 sophomores and four players from the NBA G League Ignite team – playing in a three-game tournament. The semifinals were each played to 50 points, while the final was played to 25.

Team Isiah defeated Team Worthy, 50-49, in the first semifinal, with Memphis Grizzlies sophomore Desmond Bane winning the game at the free throw line a few possessions after Orlando Magic rookie Jalen Suggs blew a chance to do the same for Team Worthy, which had come back from a 10-point deficit. Houston Rockets rookie Jalen Green led Team Worthy with 20 points, while Detroit Pistons Saddiq Bey and Isaiah Stewart combined for 26 points for Team Isiah.

Great Mic'd Up Moments from the Clorox Rising Stars games.

The second semifinal also went down to a next-basket-wins situation, with Houston Rockets sophomore Jae’Sean Tate winning the game for Team Barry with a drive through traffic after Team Payton missed a pair of step-back 3s that would have won the game. Cunningham led Team Barry with 13 points, five rebounds and six assists, while No. 3 pick Evan Mobley added 13 points and eight boards. Minnesota Timberwolves sophomore Jaden McDaniels led Team Payton with 12 points.

The 2022 Clorox Rising Stars rosters were announced following a player pool draft conducted by 75th Anniversary Team members and Rising Stars coaches Rick Barry, Gary Payton, Isiah Thomas and James Worthy.

– John Schuhmann


Clorox Clutch Challenge

Tyrese Haliburton and Desmond Bane hit shots from 5 historic NBA spots to win the Clorox Clutch Challenge.

Between the semifinals and the final of the Rising Stars, Bane and Pacers guard Tyrese Haliburton won the Clorox Clutch Challenge, making the five different iconic shots from NBA playoff history in 39.1 seconds. With Bane missing his first three shots, Haliburton carried the two sophomores through the first four spots. But Bane connected on the pair’s first attempt from the Damian Lillard spot and they beat the initial time set by Mobley and Thunder rookie Josh Giddey by more than 10 seconds.

Each team competed with one shared ball and alternated shots so no player shot two times consecutively. Team 1 was given 1 minute and 30 seconds (1:30 counting down) to make a shot from each of the five locations in any order. Team 1’s time was then the marker for Team 2. If Team 1’s time was 1:15, then Team 2 had a 1:15 countdown clock to complete the competition. Each team that established a new standard set the clock for the next team competing, and the fastest finisher will win the Clorox Clutch Challenge.

– John Schuhmann

Clorox Rising Stars Rosters


Cade Cunningham, Detroit Pistons
Dyson Daniels, G League Ignite
Evan Mobley, Cleveland Cavaliers
Isaac Okoro, Cleveland Cavaliers
Alperen Sengun, Houston Rockets
Jae’Sean Tate, Houston Rockets
Franz Wagner, Orlando Magic


Precious Achiuwa, Toronto Raptors
Desmond Bane, Memphis Grizzlies
Saddiq Bey, Detroit Pistons
Anthony Edwards, Minnesota Timberwolves
Tyrese Haliburton, Sacramento Kings
Jaden Hardy, G League Ignite
Isaiah Stewart, Detroit Pistons


LaMelo Ball, Charlotte Hornets
Scottie Barnes, Toronto Raptors
Ayo Dosunmu, Chicago Bulls
Chris Duarte, Indiana Pacers (Injured, will not play)
Scoot Henderson, G League Ignite
Bones Hyland, Denver Nuggets (Injury replacement for Mitchell)
Jonathan Kuminga, Golden State Warriors (Injury replacement for Duarte)
Jaden McDaniels, Minnesota Timberwolves
Davion Mitchell, Sacramento Kings (Injured, will not play)


Cole Anthony, Orlando Magic
MarJon Beauchamp, G League Ignite
Josh Giddey, Oklahoma City Thunder
Jalen Green, Houston Rockets
Herbert Jones, New Orleans Pelicans
Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia 76ers
Jalen Suggs, Orlando Magic