2018 NBA Finals
2018 NBA Finals

Act IV: Cleveland Cavaliers, Golden State Warriors set for fourth consecutive NBA Finals meeting

From NBA.com Staff

May 29, 2018 12:24 AM ET


The Cavaliers and Warriors will renew their rivalry in the NBA Finals for the fourth consecutive year.

For the fourth year in a row, the Cleveland Cavaliers and Golden State Warriors will meet in the NBA Finals.

The Cavs and Warriors made history last year, when they became the first two teams to meet in The Finals for three consecutive seasons.

The Cavs and Warriors are now the fourth and fifth franchises to reach four straight NBA Finals, joining the Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers and Miami Heat.

101957-1966Boston Celtics
42015-2018Golden State Warriors
42015-2018Cleveland Cavaliers
42011-2014Miami Heat
41984-1987Boston Celtics
41982-1985Los Angeles Lakers

Never before in any of North America’s four major team sports have the same two teams met to decide the championship four times in a row. The previous trilogies, in addition Cavs-Warriors, are as follows:

In MLB, the New York Giants and New York Yankees met in the World Series in 1921, '22 and '23.

In the NFL's pre-Super Bowl era, the Detroit Lions and Cleveland Browns clashed in 1952, '53 and '54.

In the NHL, the Montreal Canadiens and Detriot Red Wings faced off in 1954, ’55 and ’56.

The defending champion Warriors will attempt to win their third championship in four seasons, while the Cavs will try to win their second title in three seasons.

Both teams enter The Finals with injury concerns. Cleveland's Kevin Love remains in concussion protocol and will need to complete a series of tests before he's cleared to return, while Golden State's Andre Iguodala missed the past four games because of a bone bruise in his leg.

Complete coverge of 2018 NBA Finals

The Warriors swept the two regular-season meetings with the Cavs, winning by seven at home on Christmas Day (without Curry) and prevailing by 10 in Cleveland three weeks later.

Game 1 will be hosted by the Warriors at Oracle Arena on Thursday night.

  Game 1: Thu, May 31: Cavaliers at Warriors, 9 p.m. ET, ABC/R
  Game 2: Sun, June 3: Cavaliers at Warriors, 8 p.m. ET, ABC/R
  Game 3: Wed, June 6: Warriors at Cavaliers, 9 p.m. ET, ABC/R
  Game 4: Fri, June 8: Warriors at Cavaliers, 9 p.m. ET, ABC/R
* Game 5: Mon, June 11: Cavaliers at Warriors, 9 p.m. ET, ABC/R
* Game 6: Thu, June 14: Warriors at Cavaliers, 9 p.m. ET, ABC/R
* Game 7: Sun, June 17: Cavaliers at Warriors, 8 p.m. ET, ABC/R

* - If Necessary
R – ESPN Radio

Copyright © 2019 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |

NBA.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.