Summer League: Game Rules

Jun 26, 2017 10:55 AM ET

Summary of the format and playing rules for 2017 NBA Summer League.

All-non tournament games played during NBA Summer Leagues will be played under the following rules:

  • Four-ten minute quarters
  • Eight-minute halftime
  • Ten minute warm up period prior to the start of each game
  • Teams are in the penalty on the 10th team foul or 2nd team foul in the last two minutes  
  • Players foul out with their 10th personal foul
  • Delay-of-game violation will be assessed for when a free throw shooter ventures fully beyond the three-point line between free throw attempts
  • Each team will receive two full timeouts per half 
  • Mandatory timeouts will be taken at the first stoppage of play after 5:59 and 2:59 of each quarter
  • A timeout taken by a team will negate the next mandatory timeout due in that quarter (though a mandatory timeout will not be tied to a team if occurring first)
  • Timeouts do not carry over
  • All timeouts will be 1:45 in duration 


  • Two-minute overtime period
  • Each team is allowed one timeout
  • Penalty begins on the 2ndteam foul
  • The second overtime period is sudden death (first team to score a point wins)

All other NBA rules apply.
Tournament games played during the NBA Summer League (Las Vegas) will be played under the same playing rules as the non-tournament games except:

  • Players foul out with their 6th personal foul during the tournament
  • All overtime periods are two minutes

Copyright © 2018 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.