Bob Sura Triple-Double Disallowed
Posted Apr 13 2004 1:39PM
NEW YORK, April 13 --The National Basketball Association today disallowed a missed field goal attempt and ensuing rebound which gave Atlanta Hawk guard Bob Sura a statistical "triple-double" in the Hawks' 129-107 victory over the New Jersey Nets on April 12.
In the closing seconds of that game, Sura intentionally missed a layup and grabbed the rebound.
The NBA rule book states that "A field goal attempt is a player's attempt to shoot the ball into the basket for a field goal."
The league ruled that Sura did not attempt a field goal, and therefore there was no rebound.