NEW YORK, May 10 -- Orlando Magic guard-forward Mike Miller on Thursday was named the winner of the Schick NBA Rookie of the Year Award for the 2000-01 season and will receive the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy.

Schick Rookies
Miller received 75 of a possible 124 votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. New Jersey's Kenyon Martin finished second with 36 votes and Golden State's Marc Jackson finished third with seven votes.

Miller, the fifth overall selection in the 2000 NBA Draft out of the University of Florida, averaged 11.9 points, 4.0 rebounds, 1.7 assists and 29.1 minutes while shooting .436 (368-for-845) from the field. Miller also finished the season ranked ninth in the NBA in three-point field goals made (148) and 18th in three-point field-goal percentage (.407, 148-of-364).

Mike Miller
Miller poses with the Eddie Gottlieb trophy.
Gary Bassing/NBAE Photos
Mike Miller highlights: 28.8+ | ISDN+
Miller's May 10 conference call: Audio
A native of Mitchell, S.D., Miller started 62 games. Among rookie league-leaders, he ranked first in three-point field goals made and three-point field-goal percentage, third in points and minutes played, and seventh in field-goal percentage. Miller was the only rookie in the league to appear in all 82 games.

Miller, who scored 20 or more points 13 times, was named Schick NBA Rookie of the Month for February and Co-Rookie of the Month, along with Martin, for March.

The 124-member voting panel consisted of 37 national media members and three media members who cover the NBA regularly from each of the league's 29 teams.

The Eddie Gottlieb Trophy is named in honor of one of the NBA's founders, who coached the Philadelphia Warriors to the NBA championship in 1946-47.

A proud sponsor in its 17th year, Schick is the Official Razors and Blades of the NBA, sponsors the league's rookie programs and is a participating sponsor of the Schick Rookie Challenge, the Schick Rookie of the Month and Schick Rookie of the Year Awards and the Schick All-Rookie Team. In addition, Schick is a support sponsor of the NBA Draft.

Following are the voting results for this year's Schick NBA Rookie of the Year Award and the all-time list of winners:

2000-01 Schick NBA Rookie of the Year voting
Player, Team Votes
Mike Miller, Orlando Magic 75
Kenyon Martin, New Jersey Nets 36
Marc Jackson, Golden State Warriors 7
Darius Miles, Los Angeles Clippers 3
Morris Peterson, Toronto Raptors 3

Schick NBA Rookie of the Year winners
1952-53: Don Meineke, Fort Wayne
1953-54: Ray Felix, Baltimore
1954-55: Bob Pettit, Milwaukee
1955-56: Maurice Stokes, Rochester
1956-57: Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1957-58: Woody Sauldsberry, Philadelphia
1958-59: Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis
1959-60: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1960-61: Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati
1961-62: Walt Bellamy, Chicago
1962-63: Terry Dischinger, Chicago
1963-64: Jerry Lucas, Cincinnati
1964-65: Willis Reed, New York
1965-66: Rick Barry, San Francisco
1966-67: Dave Bing, Detroit
1967-68: Earl Monroe, Baltimore
1968-69: Wes Unseld, Baltimore
1969-70: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1970-71 (tie): Dave Cowens, Boston, and Geoff Petrie, Portland
1971-72: Sidney Wicks, Portland
1972-73: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo
1973-74: Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo
1974-75: Jamaal Wilkes, Golden State
1975-76: Alvan Adams, Phoenix
1976-77: Adrian Dantley, Buffalo
1977-78: Walter Davis, Phoenix
1978-79: Phil Ford, Kansas City
1979-80: Larry Bird, Boston
1980-81: Darrell Griffith, Utah
1981-82: Buck Williams, New Jersey
1982-83: Terry Cummings, San Diego
1983-84: Ralph Sampson, Houston
1984-85: Michael Jordan, Chicago
1985-86: Patrick Ewing, New York
1986-87: Chuck Person, Indiana
1987-88: Mark Jackson, New York
1988-89: Mitch Richmond, Golden State
1989-90: David Robinson, San Antonio
1990-91: Derrick Coleman, New Jersey
1991-92: Larry Johnson, Charlotte
1992-93: Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando
1993-94: Chris Webber, Golden State
1994-95 (tie): Grant Hill, Detroit, and Jason Kidd, Dallas
1995-96: Damon Stoudamire, Toronto
1996-97: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
1997-98: Tim Duncan, San Antonio
1998-99: Vince Carter, Toronto
1999-2000 (tie): Elton Brand, Chicago, and Steve Francis, Houston
2000-01: Mike Miller, Orlando