NEW YORK, April 26 -- Orlando's Glenn "Doc" Rivers today was named winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the IBM Coach of the Year for the 1999-2000 season.

The enthusiastic Rivers incorporated all 12 of his players into the game plan.
(Fernando Medina/NBAE Photos)

During a season that many thought would be a time of rebuilding, Rivers directed the Magic to a 41-41 record and Orlando came within one game of making the playoffs. That was despite the Magic making 37 player transactions, including trades involving four of the five starters from the previous year's team.

Rivers, who is only the fifth coach to be given the award after his first season, received 60 votes from the 121-member panel. Phil Jackson of the Los Angeles Lakers was a close second with 53 votes.

With no acknowledged superstar, Rivers built a squad that relied on the classic concept of team play for success. Rivers so regularly played all 12 men that the bench eventually earned the nickname, "The Magnificent Seven." In 33 games, the player who either led or tied for the team lead in scoring came off the bench. The Magic subs accounted for 48.2 percent of the team's scoring this season, the best in the NBA.

Orlando was one of only two teams in the NBA to rank in the top 10 in both steals and blocked shots. The Magic averaged 9.06 steals per game, which was fifth in the league, and blocked 5.70 shots a game to finish eighth in the NBA.

Rivers also sold his team on the merits of all-out defense. The persistent Magic limited opposition to a .444 shooting percentage (3,076-of-6,919), which ranked ninth in the NBA.

Rivers joins Harry Gallatin (1962-63), Johnny Kerr (1966-67), Mike Schuler (1986-87) and Larry Bird (1997-98) as a first-year winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy, which is named in honor of Auerbach, Vice Chairman of the Board for the Boston Celtics, who guided the Celtics to nine NBA championships between the 1956-57 and 1966-67 seasons.

The 121-member voting panel consisted of 34 national media members and three media members who cover the NBA regularly from each of the league's 29 cities.

An NBA partner since 1992, IBM is the Official Worldwide Information Technology Partner and e-commerce Partner of the NBA and the sponsor of the Coach of the Month awards and the Coach of the Year award.

Following are the balloting results for the 1999-2000 IBM Red Auerbach Coach of the Year award and the all-time list of winners:

1999-2000 results

Glenn "Doc" Rivers (Orlando), 60 votes
Phil Jackson (L.A. Lakers), 53
Paul Silas (Charlotte), 3
Jerry Sloan (Utah), 2
Pat Riley (Miami), 1
Scott Skiles (Phoenix), 1
Butch Carter (Toronto), 1

IBM Red Auerbach Coach of the Year winners

1962-63: Harry Gallatin, St. Louis
1963-64: Alex Hannum, San Francisco
1964-65: Red Auerbach, Boston
1965-66: Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia
1966-67: Johnny Kerr, Chicago
1967-68: Richie Guerin, St. Louis
1968-69: Gene Shue, Baltimore
1969-70: Red Holzman, New York
1970-71: Dick Motta, Chicago
1971-72: Bill Sharman, Los Angeles
1972-73: Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1973-74: Ray Scott, Detroit
1974-75: Phil Johnson, KC-Omaha
1975-76: Bill Fitch, Cleveland
1976-77: Tom Nissalke, Houston
1977-78: Hubie Brown, Atlanta
1978-79: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City
1979-80: Bill Fitch, Boston
1980-81: Jack McKinney, Indiana
1981-82: Gene Shue, Washington
1982-83: Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1983-84: Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85: Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1985-86: Mike Fratello, Atlanta
1986-87: Mike Schuler, Portland
1987-88: Doug Moe, Denver
1988-89: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix
1989-90: Pat Riley, L.A. Lakers
1990-91: Don Chaney, Houston
1991-92: Don Nelson, Golden State
1992-93: Pat Riley, New York
1993-94: Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta
1994-95: Del Harris, L.A. Lakers
1995-96: Phil Jackson, Chicago
1996-97: Pat Riley, Miami
1997-98: Larry Bird, Indiana
1998-99: Mike Dunleavy, Portland
1999-00: Glenn "Doc" Rivers, Orlando