NEW YORK, April 23 -- Antawn Jamison of the Dallas Mavericks has been named the winner of the 2003-04 NBA Sixth Man Award, honoring the league's top player in a reserve role, the NBA announced today.

Antawn Jamison photo gallery
News conference: Play

Jamison averaged 14.8 points per game and was third in the NBA in field goal percentage.
Glenn James/NBAE/Getty Images
Jamison received 338 points, including 43 of a possible 120 first-place votes, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

Al Harrington of the Indiana Pacers finished second with 275 points and the San Antonio Spurs' Manu Ginobili finished third with 244 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

Jamison appeared in all 82 regular season games this season for the Mavericks, coming off the bench to average 14.8 points on .535 shooting from the field (third in the NBA), 6.3 rebounds and 1.01 steals per game in his first season in Dallas.

Jamison scored a season-high 26 points three times this season, including in a 106-87 home victory over the Los Angeles Lakers on Jan. 22 where he shot .769 from the field (10-of-13 FG) with nine rebounds in only 27 minutes. Jamison and Antoine Walker are the only two Mavericks who appeared in all of Dallas' regular season games.

In his sixth NBA season, Jamison helped Dallas to its fifth consecutive winning campaign and 10th winning season in franchise history. The Mavericks are making their fourth straight playoff appearance.

Jamison was a first-round selection by Toronto in the 1998 NBA Draft (fourth overall). His draft rights were traded by the Raptors to the Golden State Warriors for the draft rights to Vince Carter and cash on June 24, 1998. He was traded to Dallas from the Warriors along with Danny Fortson, Chris Mills and Jiri Welsch in exchange for Evan Eschmeyer, Nick Van Exel, Avery Johnson, Popeye Jones and Antoine Rigaudeau on Aug. 13, 2003.


Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Antawn Jamison, Dallas 43 33 24 338
Al Harrington, Indiana 27 39 23 275
Emanuel Ginobili, San Antonio 33 21 16 244
Bobby Jackson, Sacramento 5 12 9 70
Earl Boykins, Denver 3 5 16 46
Desmond Mason, Milwaukee 4 6 7 45
Rafer Alston, Miami 1 1 6 14
Shane Battier, Memphis 2 0 0 10
Raja Bell, Utah 1 0 4 9
Maurice Taylor, Houston 1 0 3 8
Corliss Williamson, Detroit 0 1 5 8
Bonzi Wells, Memphis 0 1 2 5
D. Armstrong, New Orleans 0 1 1 4
Ricky Davis, Boston 0 0 2 2
Vladimir Radmanovic, Seattle 0 0 1 1
Fred Hoiberg, Minnesota 0 0 1 1


1982-83: Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86: Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88: Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89: Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93: Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94: Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95: Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96: Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97: John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98: Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99: Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00: Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01: Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02: Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03: Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04: Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks