NEW YORK, May 3 -- Ben Gordon of the Chicago Bulls has been named the winner of the 2004-05 NBA Sixth Man Award, honoring the league’s top player in a reserve role, the NBA announced today.

Gordon with his new hardware.
Allen Einstein/NBAE/Getty Images
Gordon received 513 out of a possible 625 points, including 88 of a possible 125 first-place votes, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Ricky Davis of the Boston Celtics finished second with 257 points and Earl Boykins of the Denver Nuggets finished third with 155 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

NBA TV highlights from
News Conference:

Gordon, the first-ever rookie honored with the award, appeared in all 82 regular season games this season for the Bulls, coming off the bench in 79 of them to average 15.1 points on .411 shooting from the field, 2.6 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game in his rookie season. Gordon also was a big role player for the Bulls in the fourth quarter of games, scoring 10 or more points in the final quarter 21 times, including a 22-point outburst in a 102-99 comeback win at Charlotte (March 30).

He helped the Bulls return to the NBA Playoffs for the first time since 1998 while the Bulls also posted a 38-18 (.679) record from January 1, 2005 through the end of the regular season which was the third-most wins by a club since the New Year (Detroit and Dallas won 39 games). The Bulls also collected the fifth-best home record during that span, 21-6 (.778).

A first round selection by Chicago in the 2004 NBA Draft (third overall), he played three seasons at the University of Connecticut and was a member of Connecticut’s 2004 NCAA championship team.


Player, Team1st2nd3rdPts
Ben Gordon, Chicago88227513
Ricky Davis, Boston174925257
Earl Boykins, Denver112234155
Jerry Stackhouse, Dallas6142395
Vladimir Radmanovic, Seattle28741
Wally Szczerbiak, Minnesota121122
Antonio McDyess, Detroit-2511
Antonio Daniels, Seattle-2410
Donyell Marshall, Toronto-147
Jim Jackson, Phoenix-114
Kyle Korver, Philadelphia-1-3
Mehmet Okur, Utah-1-3
Tyson Chandler, Chicago--33
Hedo Turkoglu, Orlando--11


1982-83: Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86: Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88: Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89: Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93: Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94: Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95: Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96: Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97: John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98: Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99: Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-2000: Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01: Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02: Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03: Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04: Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05: Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls