NEW YORK, April 24 -- New Orleans Hornets forward P.J. Brown is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2003-04 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

P.J. Brown received the Sportsmanship Award from Hall of Famer Bob Lanier.
Layne Murdoch/NBAE/Getty Images
Originally presented following the 1995-96 season, the Sportsmanship Award honors a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons All-Star guard Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient. This year marks the first time that NBA players voted for the Sportsmanship Award winner.

Brown, a divisional winner of the Sportsmanship Award the past three seasons, received 1,220 points, including 95 first-place votes. Players were awarded seven points for each first-place vote, five points for each second-place vote, three points for each third-place vote and one point for each fourth-place vote received.

An 11-year NBA veteran, Brown was one of four divisional winners which included Los Angeles Clippers forward Elton Brand, Memphis forward Shane Battier and New Jersey guard Kerry Kittles. Each team nominated one of its own players for the award and former NBA players Walt Frazier, Mike Glenn, Tommy Heinsohn, Eddie Johnson and Gil McGregor selected the four divisional winners.

The NBA will donate $25,000 on behalf of Brown to the PJ & Dee Brown Foundation, and another $10,000 each to the charities of choice for Brand, Battier and Kittles. Brand's donation will be made to A Place Called Home, Battier will donate to the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Memphis and Kittles' donation will be made to the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation.


Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Pts
P.J. Brown, New Orleans 95 72 49 48 1,220
Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers 75 66 77 53 1,139
Shane Battier, Memphis 59 64 59 75 985
Kerry Kittles, New Jersey 35 62 79 88 880


Inaugural: Joe Dumars (1996)
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans