Detroit Pistons coach Stan Van Gundy named Rudy Tomjanovic Award winner

The Associated Press

May 26, 2017 11:11 PM ET

Stan Van Gundy was voted the winner by a panel of PBWA members, which includes 205 writers and editors.

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. -- Stan Van Gundy of the Detroit Pistons has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, which honors an NBA coach for his cooperation with media and fans, as well as excellence on the court.

The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced the winner Friday. Van Gundy was one of five finalists for the award. The others were Steve Clifford of the Charlotte Hornets, Mike D'Antoni of the Houston Rockets, David Fizdale of the Memphis Grizzlies and Brad Stevens of the Boston Celtics.

Past Rudy Tomjanovich Award winners:

2015-16: Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors
2014-15: Steve Kerr, Golden State Warriors
2013-14: Frank Vogel, Indiana Pacers
2012-13: George Karl, Denver Nuggets
2011-12: Doc Rivers, Boston Celtics
2010-11: Jerry Sloan, Utah Jazz

Copyright © 2018 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.