Top Stories

Thunder coach Mark Daigneault named NBCA Coach of the Year

The Thunder coach is the 2024 recipient of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award.

Thunder head coach Mark Daigneault helped power OKC to the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference.

Oklahoma City Thunder head coach Mark Daigneault is the 2024 recipient of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award, the National Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

The Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award recognizes the dedication, commitment, and hard work of NBA Head Coaches and is presented annually to a Head Coach who helps guide his players to a higher level of performance on the court and shows outstanding service and dedication to the community off the court. It honors the spirit of Mr. Goldberg, the esteemed long-time Executive Director of the NBCA, who set the standard for loyalty, integrity, love of the game, passionate representation, and tireless promotion of NBA coaching. The award is unique in that it is voted upon by the winners’ peers, the Head Coaches of all 30 NBA teams.

In total, five Head Coaches received votes, reflecting the depth of coaching excellence in the NBA this season. In addition to Daigneault, the following Head Coaches also received votes [listed alphabetically]: J.B. Bickerstaff, Cleveland Cavaliers; Chris Finch, Minnesota Timberwolves; Joe Mazzulla, Boston Celtics; and Jamahl Mosley, Orlando Magic.

“Congratulations to Mark Daigneault on leading a young group of talented players to such a successful season,” said Indiana Pacers Head Coach and NBCA President Rick Carlisle. “He led the youngest team in NBA history to clinch a top playoff seed and has established himself as one of the top coaches in the game.”

Coach Daigneault, in his fourth season as Head Coach of the Thunder, led the team to its first playoff berth since the 2019-2020 season, marking its 12th postseason appearance in the last 15 seasons, second most in the NBA.

The Thunder captured their first 55+ win season since the 2015-2016 campaign, finishing with a record of 57-25, a 17-game improvement from last season. The Thunder are one of only four teams in NBA history to improve their win total in consecutive seasons by 16 or more games. Oklahoma City finished with a 33-8 record at home, tied for the best home winning percentage in the Western Conference.

Coach Daigneault has quickly transformed a young team into one of the most prolific offenses in the NBA. Oklahoma City entered the 2023-2024 NBA Season as the second-youngest team in the NBA (an average age of 24 years old). The Thunder were the youngest team in NBA history to eclipse the 55 win mark and to earn a number one seed. The Thunder led the league in three point percentage at 38.9%, and were the only team to finish top five in field goal percentage, three point percentage and free throw percentage. In addition, the Thunder ranked top five in numerous statistical categories, including:

  • First in three point percentage (38.9)
  • T-First in blocks per game (6.6)
  • T-First in steals per game (8.5)
  • Second in True Shooting Percentage (60.8)
  • Second in net rating (7.3)
  • Third in offensive rating (118.3)
  • Third in Player Impact Estimate (53.8)
  • Third in points per game (120.1)
  • Third in field goal percentage (49.8)
  • Third in effective field goal percentage (57.3)
  • Fourth in free throw percentage (82.5)
  • Fourth in defensive rating (111.0)
  • Fifth in assist to turnover ratio (2.14)

“It is humbling to be chosen for this honor by my peers, for whom I have a great deal of respect and admiration,” said Oklahoma City Thunder Head Coach Mark Daigneault. “Our team’s success this season has been driven by a group of talented players, whose commitment and competitiveness has been uncommon. Coaching them is a privilege. I’m also grateful for our assistant coaches and support staff, whose invisible work glues our operation together. Representing the Thunder organization and Oklahoma City, alongside competent and high character coworkers brings me tremendous fulfillment. A special thank you to Clay Bennett and Sam Presti for the opportunity to live that out every day.”

“Mark Daigneault is extremely deserving of this award and the recognition from his coaching peers,” said David Fogel, NBCA Executive Director and General Counsel. “Coach Daigneault’s hard work, commitment, and dedication to his players led a young Thunder team to the top seed in the West and one of the best two-year improvements in NBA history. Congratulations to Coach Daigneault, the Thunder Assistant Coaches, and the entire franchise on winning the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award.”

In 1980, just four years after the NBCA was founded, Goldberg became its first Executive Director. He guided the organization during the years of the greatest growth in professional basketball. He helped gain significant benefits for NBA Coaches, including increased retirement funds, salary levels, and disability insurance. Prior to the NBCA, Goldberg was General Counsel of the American Basketball Association.

The prior recipients of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award are:

  • 2023: Mike Brown
  • 2022: Monty Williams
  • 2021: Monty Williams
  • 2020: Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan
  • 2019: Mike Budenholzer
  • 2018: Dwane Casey
  • 2017: Mike D’Antoni and Erik Spoelstra

The NBA will announce the NBA’s Coach of the Year later during the 2024 NBA Playoffs.

About the NBCA: The National Basketball Coaches Association (NBCA) is the labor association that represents basketball coaches in the National Basketball Association (NBA).  Founded in 1976 by legendary Boston Celtics player and coach, Tommy Heinsohn, the NBCA consists of all NBA Head Coaches, Assistant Coaches and alumni, and works closely with the NBA on all matters that pertain to the coaching profession.