NEW YORK, May 7 -- San Antonio's David Robinson has been named the winner of the 2000-01 NBA Sportsmanship Award, which honors a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, and was presented with the Joe Dumars Trophy.

David Robinson
Robinson accepts the NBA Sportsmanship Award on Monday.
Glenn James/NBAE Photos TV report on Sportsmanship Award: 28.8+ | ISDN+
Robinson has asked that the $25,000 award be donated to the Carver Academy, a privately financed and governed school, designed to serve pre-kindergarten through eighth grade students from primarily low-income families on San Antonio's Eastside. Robinson and his wife, Valerie, started the project by committing $5 million of their own.

"It is an honor to join a very distinguished group of individuals," Robinson said about winning the award. "Along with winning another NBA championship, seeing the Carver Academy open its doors is one of the great challenges in my life. This donation is going to help move us one step closer to making that happen."

Robinson received 82 of 124 votes from a panel consisting of 37 national media members and three media members who cover the NBA regularly from each of the league's 29 teams. Former NBA players Phil Chenier, Eddie Johnson, Kevin Johnson, Stu Lantz and Kenny Smith selected the four divisional winners from a pool of 29 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for the award.

Sam Perkins of Indiana and the Central Division finished second with 20 votes. Golden State's Antawn Jamison, the Pacific Division nominee, and Washington's Chris Whitney, the Atlantic Division nominee, received 13 and nine votes, respectively. Robinson was chosen from the Midwest Division.

On behalf of Perkins, Jamison and Whitney, the NBA will donate $10,000 to the Pacers Academy, a middle school for at-risk children in conjunction with the Indianapolis public school district; Providence High School in Charlotte, N.C. (Jamison's alma mater); and Christian County High School in Hopkinsville, Ky. (Whitney's alma mater).

David Robinson
On-court highlights
of David Robinson:

28.8+ | ISDN+
The annual award is part of a larger program, the NBA Sportsmanship Initiative, which also consists of the NBA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Program and a public service campaign. The initiative also includes the WNBA and focuses on fostering the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play, and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball players.

The NBA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Program, implemented in conjunction with the National Federation of State High School Associations and the Canadian School Sports Federation, is designed to encourage and reward male and female high school student-athletes, as well as high school basketball coaches, who demonstrate sportsmanship.

Joe Dumars of the Detroit Pistons was named the inaugural recipient of the NBA Sportsmanship Award in November 1996. The six-time All-Star was selected in honor of his distinguished career and for symbolizing the tradition the NBA recognizes with this award. Last year, the trophy that is presented to the winner was named in honor of Dumars.

NBA Sportsmanship Award winners
Inaugural: Joe Dumars, Detroit
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio