NBA players with two different numbers retired

Kobe Bryant wore No. 8 from 1996 to 2006, when he switched to No. 24 for the remainder of a 20-year career spent entirely with the Los Angeles Lakers. He is the 10th player honored by the Lakers with a retired number, and the first in NBA history to have two numbers retired by the same team.

Bryant becomes the sixth NBA player to have two different numbers retired, joining Oscar Robertson, Earl Monroe, Julius Erving, Pete Maravich and Shaquille O’Neal.

Oscar Robertson — Bucks and Kings (via Cincinnati Royals)

Earl Monroe — Knicks and Bullets/Wizards

Pete Maravich — Jazz and Hawks

Julius Erving — 76ers and Nets

Shaquille O’Neal — Lakers and Heat