NEW YORK, May 3, 2007 – Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2006-07 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Originally presented following the 1995-96 season, the Sportsmanship Award honors a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient.

Deng, also a Central Division nominee for the 2005-06 season, was one of six divisional winners, including Atlanta’s Joe Johnson (Southeast), Houston’s Shane Battier (Southwest), the Los Angeles Clippers’ Elton Brand (Pacific), Toronto’s Anthony Parker (Atlantic) and Utah’s Derek Fisher (Northwest). Brand won the award in 2005-06.

The NBA will donate $25,000 on behalf of Luol Deng to Pacific Garden Mission, which is the oldest continuously-operating rescue mission in the country. The NBA will donate another $10,000 each to the divisional winners’ charities of choice: Toronto Raptors Foundation on behalf of Parker; Boys and Girls Club in Little Rock, Ark. on behalf of Johnson; Boys and Girls Club of Houston on behalf of Shane Battier; Fisher Fellows of the University of Arkansas-Little Rock and C.A.M.P. Inc of Peekskill, N.Y. on Brand’s behalf.

For the third consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for this award, then former NBA stars Mike Bantom, Eddie Johnson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and the 2000-01 Sportsmanship Award recipient Steve Smith, selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees.

Attached is a list of this year’s voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:


Player1st2nd3rd4th5th6th Points
Luol Deng, Chicago5269486253292027
Shane Battier, Houston6558593836572005
Derek Fisher, Utah5855515547471953
Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers5049665753381935
Joe Johnson, Atlanta4745435264621737
Anthony Parker, Toronto4137464960801611


Inaugural:Joe Dumars (1996)2001-02:Steve Smith, San Antonio
1996-97:Terrell Brandon, Cleveland2002-03:Ray Allen, Seattle
1997-98:Avery Johnson, San Antonio2003-04:P.J. Brown, New Orleans
1998-99:Hersey Hawkins, Seattle2004-05:Grant Hill, Orlando
1999-2000:Eric Snow, Philadelphia2005-06:Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2000-2001:David Robinson, San Antonio2006-07:Luol Deng, Chicago