2023 NBA 2K24 Summer League

Cavs' Isaiah Mobley named MVP of Summer League title game

Mobley finished with 28 points, 11 rebounds and 3 assists to power Cleveland to its 1st title since the Summer League went to a tournament format in 2013.

Isaiah Mobley's impressive double-double (28 points, 11 rebounds) earns him the Most Valuable Player award of the Summer League championship game.

After leading the Cleveland Cavaliers to a 99-78 victory over the Houston Rockets in the NBA 2K24 Summer League title game, big man Isaiah Mobley earned the Summer League MVP award, more than making up for not being selected to the all-tournament team.

“I try to not worry about stuff I can’t control,” Mobley said. “Do I agree with it? No, but it is what it is. I’ll take the championship all over it all day.”

Mobley put up an impressive double-double performance in the Las Vegas finale, scoring a game-high 28 points and 11 rebounds, along with three assists, two steals and two blocks in the win. The 6-foot-8 forward averaged 15.8 points, 7.8 assists and 4.8 rebounds over the first five matchups in Las Vegas.

Mobley, a second-round pick in 2022, finished strong in Summer League. He put the Cavaliers in the title game by scoring 23 points and making the winning shot in overtime to beat the Brooklyn Nets 102-99 on Sunday.

On Monday, the Cavaliers asserted control early by running out to a 17-4 lead. Houston went on a 19-4 run to cut the margin to 41-38 late in the first half. But then Cleveland scored the first 11 points of the second half to take a 62-44 lead, and the outcome was never seriously in doubt after that.

Sam Merrill scored 27 points, making 6 of 12 3-pointers, and Emoni Bates added 19 points for the Cavaliers (6-0).

Nate Hinton led Houston (5-1) with 18 points and 10 rebounds. Three other Rockets also scored in double figures: Cam Whitmore (14), Trevor Hudgins (13) and Fletcher Magee (10). Whitmore was chosen tournament MVP.

This was the Cavaliers’ first title since the Summer League went to a tournament format in 2013.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.