NEW YORK, April 27, 2007 – The NBA announced today that Marcus Camby of the Denver Nuggets has won the 2006-07 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award.

The 6-11 forward/center averaged a league-high 3.30 blocks to go along with 11.7 rpg (tied for fourth in the NBA), 11.2 ppg and a career-high 3.2 apg. Camby led the Nuggets in starts (70) and recorded a career-best 32 games with double figures in both points and rebounds. Camby also led all centers in steals (1.24 spg), while his assists were second among centers.

Since entering the NBA in 1996, Camby has been one of the game’s best shot blockers. His career average of 2.56 blocks ranks fourth among all active players and has led the league in blocks on three occasions – 1997-98, 2005-06 and 2006-07. Camby joins George Johnson, Dikembe Mutombo, Hakeem Olajuwon and Theo Ratliff with three blocked shots titles, and is just one title behind Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Mark Eaton for the most all-time.

Camby continues to work his way up the Nuggets’ all-time charts. He ranks second on the team’s all-time blocked shot list with 841 and is seven rebounds shy of passing Dan Schayes (3,086) for 10th on the Nuggets all-time rebounding list.

Camby received 431 points, including 70 first-place votes, from a panel of 130 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. San Antonio’s Bruce Bowen finished second with 206 points and his teammate Tim Duncan finished third with 158 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

Attached are the 2006-07 results and the league’s all-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:


Player, Team1st2nd3rdPts
Marcus Camby, Denver702312431
Bruce Bowen, San Antonio222618206
Tim Duncan, San Antonio152217158
Shawn Marion, Phoenix7122293
Shane Battier, Houston7111886
Ben Wallace, Chicago110742
Gerald Wallace, Charlotte33327
Ron Artest, Sacramento13620
Tyson Chandler, NOK-5-15
Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana12-11
Emeka Okafor, Charlotte-2410
Tayshaun Prince, Detroit-2410
Kirk Hinrich, Chicago-217
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah-217
Quinton Ross, L.A. Clippers1-16
Dwight Howard, Orlando1-16
Josh Howard, Dallas-125
Udonis Haslem, Miami1--5
Luol Deng, Chicago-114
Kevin Garnett, Minnesota-217
Josh Smith, Atlanta--33
Caron Butler, Washington-1-3
Raja Bell, Phoenix--22
Devin Harris, Dallas--11
Yao Ming, Houston--11
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers--11
Alonzo Mourning, Miami--11
Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia--11
Anthony Parker, Toronto--11


1982-83: Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1983-84: Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1984-85: Mark Eaton, Utah
1985-86: Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87: Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
1987-88: Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89: Mark Eaton, Utah
1989-90: Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1990-91: Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1991-92: David Robinson, San Antonio
1992-93: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95: Dikembe Mutombo, Denver
1995-96: Gary Payton, Seattle
1996-97: Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1997-98: Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1998-99: Alonzo Mourning, Miami
1999-2000: Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2000-01: Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2002-03: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2003-04: Ron Artest, Indiana
2004-05: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2005-06: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2006-07: Marcus Camby, Denver