2024 Rising Stars

Team Jalen knocks off Team Detlef to claim 2024 Panini Rising Stars

The Pacers' Bennedict Mathurin takes home MVP honors as Team Jalen defeats Team Detlef in the championship game.

Ultimate Highlight: 2024 Panini Rising Stars

Bennedict Mathurin puts on a show for Pacers fans, earning MVP honors after scoring 13 points in the 2024 Panini Rising Stars Final.

• Download the NBA App >

> Semifinal 1: Team Jalen 40, Team Tamika 35
> Semifinal 2: Team Detlef 41, Team Pau 36
> Final: Team Jalen 26, Team Detlef 13

INDIANAPOLIS — Team Jalen was named for honorary coach Jalen Rose, but it was the Oklahoma City Thunder’s Jalen Williams who put the finishing touches on a dominant, 26-13 victory over Team Detlef in the final of the Panini Rising Stars at All-Star 2024. After New Orleans Pelicans rookie Jordan Hawkins pulled up from 3 to put his team within two points of the target score of 25, Williams was given space to shoot and he drained the game-winner from a few feet beyond the arc.

Team Detlef, comprised of G League players, got off to a 4-2 start, but Team Jalen then took control with a 10 run. They then cruised to a 13-point victory with a balanced attack, with none of their seven players scoring more than seven points. Indiana Pacers guard Bennedict Mathurin earned event MVP honors largely due to his 18 points in the first semifinal.

Things didn’t look great for Team Jalen early in that first game, as Team Tamika ran off to a 9-0 start. But Team Jalen eventually found its footing and used a 15-2 run to take a five-point lead. After missing two free throws on the previous possession, Mathurin drained a baseline jumper over Blazers rookie Scoot Henderson to give his squad a 40-35 victory. Henderson led Team Tamika with 10 points, while Jaden Ivey finished with eight points, three rebounds and four steals.

Team Detlef took control of the second semifinal with an early, 11-0 run. Team Pau cut a 12-point deficit down to one, but couldn’t complete the comeback and G League Ignite’s Matas Buzelis gave Team Detlef the 41-36 victory with a tough, turnaround baseline jumper over Brandon Miller. Reigning dunk champ Mac McClung led the way with 12 points, five rebounds and three assists, while No. 1 pick Victor Wembanyama was the star for Team Pau, finishing with 11 points, seven rebounds and two blocks.

— John Schuhmann

Team Jalen’s Bennedict Mathurin is presented with the MVP trophy for the 2024 Panini Rising Stars.

Team Pau

  • Victor Wembanyama (Rookie, San Antonio Spurs)
  • Brandon Miller (Rookie, Charlotte Hornets)
  • Brandin Podziemski (Rookie, Golden State Warriors)
  • Jaime Jaquez. Jr. (Rookie, Miami Heat)
  • Jabari Smith Jr. (Sophomore, Houston Rockets)
  • Cason Wallace (Rookie, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Bilal Coulibaly (Rookie, Washington Wizards)

Team Tamika

  • Paolo Banchero (Sophomore, Orlando Magic)
  • Jaden Ivey (Sophomore, Detroit Pistons)
  • Jalen Duren (Sophomore, Detroit Pistons)
  • Keegan Murray (Sophomore, Sacramento Kings)
  • Scoot Henderson (Rookie, Portland Trail Blazers)
  • Keyonte George (Rookie, Utah Jazz)
  • Dyson Daniels (Sophomore, New Orleans Pelicans) *
  • Vince Williams Jr. (Sophomore, Memphis Grizzlies)
    • * = Daniels is injured and will not play; replaced by Williams Jr.

Team Jalen

  • Chet Holmgren (Rookie, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Jalen Williams (Sophomore, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Bennedict Mathurin (Sophomore, Indiana Pacers)
  • Shaedon Sharpe (Sophomore, Portland Trail Blazers) *
  • Dereck Lively II (Rookie, Dallas Mavericks)
  • Jordan Hawkins (Rookie, New Orleans Pelicans)
  • Walker Kessler (Sophomore, Utah Jazz)
  • Jeremy Sochan (Sophomore, San Antonio Spurs)
    • * = Sharpe is injured and will not play; replaced by Sochan

Team Detlef

  • Izan Almansa (G League Ignite)
  • Emoni Bates (Cleveland Charge)
  • Matas Buzelis (G League Ignite)
  • Ron Holland (G League Ignite)*
  • Mac McClung (Osceola Magic)
  • Tyler Smith (G League Ignite)
  • Oscar Tshiebwe (Indiana Mad Ants)
  • Alondes Williams (Sioux Falls Skyforce)
    • * = Holland is injured and will not play; replaced by Bates

How it works

Gasol (Team Pau), Catchings (Team Tamika) and Rose (Team Jalen) selected their teams through the Rising Stars Draft, which took place live Tuesday, Feb. 6 on the NBA App. Schrempf (Team Detlef) will coach the team of NBA G League players.

All three games in the mini-tournament will be played to a Final Target Score, which means each game will end on a made basket or free throw rather than time expiring.

The two semifinal games – Game 1 and Game 2 – will be played to a Final Target Score of 40.

The final game, featuring the winners, will be played to a Final Target Score of 25 to determine the tournament champion.

  • Game 1: Team Jalen vs. Team Tamika
  • Game 2: Team Detlef vs. Team Pau
  • Game 3: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2

The coaches

A six-time NBA All-Star and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, Gasol will return as one of the four honorary head coaches after leading his team to the Rising Stars championship last year. Joining Gasol as honorary head coaches are Catchings, Rose and Schrempf.

Catchings, an Indiana Fever legend and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, led the Fever to the 2012 WNBA championship. Rose helped the Pacers reach the 2000 NBA Finals and was the Kia NBA Most Improved Player that season. Schrempf, a three-time NBA All-Star, won back-to-back Kia NBA Sixth Man Awards with the Pacers in the 1990-91 and 1991-92 seasons.

How players were selected

Pau Gasol, Tamika Catchings and Jalen Rose make their selections for the 2024 Panini Rising Stars game.

In selecting the NBA players for Panini Rising Stars, each NBA team submitted one ballot per coaching staff.  Each coaching staff selected four frontcourt players, four guards and two additional players at either position, in order of preference, for the rookie ballot and the sophomore ballot. Coaches were not permitted to vote for any player on their team.

The NBA participants for Panini Rising Stars were determined by the total points each player received from the ballots.  Points were awarded based on where a player was ranked on each ballot. The player pool includes one more rookie than sophomore based on total points received.