2021 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

Warriors' Stephen Curry wins 2021 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

Stephen Curry's second victory in the contest makes him just the seventh player to win multiple times (2015, 2021).

Stephen Curry beat Mike Conley by a single point to take home his second 3-Point title.

Needing to sink the last two balls off his final rack, Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors did just that to win the MTN DEW® 3-Point Contest Sunday prior to the 2021 NBA All-Star Game at State Farm Arena in Atlanta.

Curry finished with 28 points in the contest’s final round, beating Utah guard Mike Conley by one point. For Curry, who leads the NBA this season with 169 3-pointers made, the clutch performance gave him his second 3-Point crown in the 35th All-Star weekend contest.

Acclaimed as arguably the best shooter in NBA history, Curry — who posted the event’s top score Sunday with 31 in the opening round and sank three of the four “Dew Zone” deep 3-balls he shot — also won in 2015. He becomes just the seventh player to win the contest multiple times, and the first to do so since Jason Kapono (2007-08).

Conley, shooting 42.2% from the arc in the regular season, was participating for the first time. He was a late-addition injury replacement both in the contest and in the All-Star Game for Phoenix’s Devin Booker, who suffered a knee injury last week. Conley made Curry work by boosting his final round score to 27 with a sweep of his final rack.

Boston’s Jayson Tatum, participating for the first time, advanced to the second round but fell short with 17. Celtics teammate Jaylen Brown, Chicago’s Zach LaVine and Jazz wing Donovan Mitchell all were eliminated in the first round. LaVine and Mitchell were trying to become the first former AT&T Slam Dunk contest winner to also win the 3-Point Contest.

— Steve Aschburner, NBA.com

> All-Access: 2021 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

All-Access: MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

> 2021 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest Recap

Mike Conley impressed, and almost scored the victory, before Stephen Curry won on his final shot.

About the 2021 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

Former 3-Point Contest champions Devin Booker of the Phoenix Suns and Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors led a field composed entirely of current NBA All-Stars who will participate in the 2021 MTN DEW® 3-Point Contest on Sunday, March 7 at State Farm Arena in Atlanta.  The competition will take place before the 2021 NBA All-Star Game, airing on TNT.

The six-player field for the 35th MTN DEW® 3-Point Contest was headed by former champion Stephen Curry and also featured 2021 NBA All-Stars Jaylen Brown and Jayson Tatum of the Boston Celtics, Zach LaVine of the Chicago Bulls and Donovan Mitchell of the Utah Jazz.  Mitchell’s teammate, point guard Mike Conley Jr. replaced Devin Booker of the Phoenix Suns, who was injured and unable to compete. This marked the first 3-Point Contest in which each participant is a current NBA All-Star.

MTN DEW returned as the title partner of the 3-Point Contest as part of PepsiCo and the NBA’s multiyear marketing partnership renewal.  In addition, MTN DEW will award $100,000 in newly created MTN DEW Scholarships to two students from Historically Black Colleges and Universities during the 3-Point Contest broadcast.

The MTN DEW 3-Point Contest was a two-round, timed shooting competition at NBA All-Star 2021, which took place on one night.

Booker, the 2018 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest champion, made his fifth appearance in the event.  Curry, the 2015 champion, competed for the seventh time, tying Dale Ellis for the second-most appearances behind Craig Hodges (eight).  A seven-time NBA All-Star, Curry has made a league-high 164 3-pointers this season.  He holds the NBA single-season record for 3-pointers made (402 in 2015-16) and ranks second in career 3-pointers made (2,659).

LaVine and Mitchell are both former AT&T Slam Dunk champions.  No player has ever won both the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest and AT&T Slam Dunk in a career.  LaVine competed in the 3-Point Contest for the second year in a row.  This marked an event debut for Mitchell.  Brown, Tatum and Conley were also first-time participants in the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest.

For the second consecutive year, the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest featured the “MTN DEW Zone” – two deep shot locations positioned equidistant between the traditional racks at the top of the 3-point arc and the adjacent “wing” rack.  Each of the two ball pedestals in the MTN DEW Zone is located 6 feet behind the 3-point line and holds one special green ball, the “3-Ball.”  Shots made with the green ball are worth three points.

In addition to the two shots in the MTN DEW Zone, the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest had five main shooting locations – four racks containing four official NBA game balls (each worth one point) and one multicolored “money” ball (worth two points), as well as one special “all money ball” rack.  Every ball on the all money ball rack, which each participant can place at any of the five traditional shooting locations, is worth two points.

Each competitor will have 70 seconds (1:10) to shoot as many as the 27 balls as he can, with a maximum possible score of 40 points in a round.  The three competitors with the highest scores in the first round will advance to the championship round.  The player with the highest score in the championship round will win the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest.  Click here for a complete explanation of the rules and a diagram showing the location of the MTN DEW Zone.

MTN DEW 3-Point Contest Winners

  • 1986 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1987 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1988 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1989 – Dale Ellis, Seattle
  • 1990 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1991 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1992 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1993 – Mark Price, Cleveland
  • 1994 – Mark Price, Cleveland
  • 1995 – Glen Rice, Miami
  • 1996 – Tim Legler, Washington
  • 1997 – Steve Kerr, Chicago
  • 1998 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah
  • 2000 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah
  • 2001 – Ray Allen, Milwaukee
  • 2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
  • 2003 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
  • 2004 – Voshon Lenard, Denver
  • 2005 – Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
  • 2006 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
  • 2007 – Jason Kapono, Miami
  • 2008 – Jason Kapono, Toronto
  • 2009 – Daequan Cook, Miami
  • 2010 – Paul Pierce, Boston
  • 2011 – James Jones, Miami
  • 2012 – Kevin Love, Minnesota
  • 2013 – Kyrie Irving, Cleveland
  • 2014 – Marco Belinelli, San Antonio
  • 2015 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
  • 2016 – Klay Thompson, Golden State
  • 2017 – Eric Gordon, Houston
  • 2018 – Devin Booker, Phoenix
  • 2019 – Joe Harris, Brooklyn
  • 2020 – Buddy Hield, Sacramento
  • 2021 – Stephen Curry, Golden State