Kobe Bryant Named to NBA All-Defensive First Team

NEW YORK – Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard, winner of the
last three NBA Defensive Player of the Year Awards, headlines the NBA
All-Defensive First Team, the NBA announced today. Howard totaled 56 points
overall, including 27 First Team votes.

Also selected to the All-Defensive First Team are guard Rajon Rondo of the
Boston Celtics (39 points), forward LeBron James of the Miami Heat (38
points), forward Kevin Garnett of the Boston Celtics (33 points), and guard
Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers (33 points). Garnett and Bryant each
earn All-Defensive First Team honors for the ninth time, tying Michael
Jordan and Gary Payton for the most in NBA history.

Howard earned the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award,
becoming the first player to win the award three straight seasons. He led
the league with 66 double-doubles, while ranking second in rebounds (14.1
rpg) and fourth in blocks (2.38 bpg). He recorded at least 1,000 rebounds
and 100 blocked shots for the sixth straight year; since blocked shots were
officially tracked in 1973-74, only Moses Malone has done it more (seven
seasons). With Howard manning the middle, the Magic allowed 93.5 ppg,
ranking fourth in that category.

The NBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of guards Tony Allen of the
Memphis Grizzlies, and Chris Paul of the New Orleans Hornets, center Tyson
Chandler of the Dallas Mavericks, forward Andre Iguodala of the
Philadelphia 76ers, and forward-center Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to
select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were
not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were
awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team


CENTERDwight HowardOrlando Magic27256
GUARDRajon RondoBoston Celtics16739
FORWARDLeBron JamesMiami Heat17438
GUARDKobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers13733
FORWARDKevin GarnettBoston Celtics15333


GUARDTony AllenMemphis Grizzlies7923
GUARDChris PaulNew Orleans Hornets6618
CENTERTyson ChandlerDallas Mavericks31117
FORWARDAndre IguodalaPhiladelphia 76ers5515
FORWARDJoakim NoahChicago Bulls3915

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in
parentheses): Derrick Rose, Chicago, 14 (4); Dwyane Wade, Miami, 13 (3);
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 13 (4); Gerald Wallace, Portland, 11 (1);
Grant Hill, Phoenix 11 (4); Luol Deng, Chicago 11 (4); Tim Duncan, San
Antonio, 11 (3); Chuck Hayes, Houston, 10 (2); Al Horford, Atlanta 7 (3);
Josh Smith, Atlanta, 7 (1); Ron Artest, Los Angeles Lakers, 7 (1); Serge
Ibaka, Oklahoma City, 6 (1); Shane Battier, Memphis 5 (2); Thabo Sefolosha,
Oklahoma City, 5; Wesley Matthews, Portland 4 (2), Kendrick Perkins,
Oklahoma City, 3; Nicolas Batum, Portland, 3; (1); Joe Johnson, Atlanta; 2
(1); Keith Bogans, Chicago 2 (1); Kyle Lowry, Houston, 2; Lamar Odom, Los
Angeles Lakers, 2
; Luc Mbah a Moute, Milwaukee, 2; Manu Ginobili, San
Antonio, 2 (1); Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee, 1; Andrew Bynum, Los Angeles
Lakers 1
; Arron Afflalo, Denver, 1; Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia 1; Kirk
Hinrich, Atlanta 1; Nene, Denver, 1; Ronnie Brewer, Chicago, 1; Shawn
Marion, Dallas, 1; Tayshaun Prince, Detroit, 1.