Clippers' Montrezl Harrell wins 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

Thunder guard Dennis Schroder finishes 2nd, LA teammate Lou Williams snags 3rd

Official release

Sep 4, 2020 6:23 PM ET

Montrezl Harrell averaged 18.6 points (58.0 FG%), 7.1 rebounds and 1.1. blocks in 27.8 minutes for LA.

NEW YORK -- LA Clippers forward-center Montrezl Harrell has won the 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award for his contributions in a reserve role, the NBA announced today. This is the first NBA Sixth Man Award for Harrell, who finished in third place last season.  

Harrell received 58 first-place votes from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters and earned 397 total points.  Oklahoma City Thunder guard Dennis Schröder finished in second place with 328 points (35 first-place votes).  Clippers guard Lou Williams, a three-time Kia NBA Sixth Man Award winner, received the other seven first-place votes and finished in third place with 127 points.

Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.  The voting was conducted based on regular-season games played through March 11.  The seeding games, which were played July 30 – Aug. 14 as part of the season restart, did not count toward voting for the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award or the league’s other traditional end-of-season awards.  To be eligible for the Sixth Man Award, players had to have come off the bench in more games than they started in games played through March 11.

Harrell's steady improvement has culminated in a standout bench role on a championship contender.

From the beginning of the season through March 11, Harrell averaged 18.6 points, 7.1 rebounds and 1.14 blocked shots in 27.8 minutes in 63 games (two starts) as part of his fifth NBA season.  In games played off the bench during that time, Harrell ranked second in the NBA in scoring (18.4 ppg) and fifth in rebounding (7.0 rpg).  He also shot 58.0 percent from the field in all games played through March 11, the 10th-best mark in the NBA.   

In games played off the bench through March 11, Harrell recorded an NBA-high 11 double-doubles, tied for first with four games of at least 30 points and ranked second with 10 games of 25 or more points.  He scored 34 points off the bench twice, matching his single-game career high as a starter or reserve.    

Led by Harrell and Williams, the Clippers averaged an NBA-high 51.5 points off the bench and outscored their opponents’ reserves in 53 of 64 games through March 11.  LA posted a 44-20 record during that period, the second-best mark in the Western Conference.   

Harrell on Inside: 'I hear the outside noise about what I can't do every day. I fuel and feed off things like that.'

Harrell, 26, has spent the last three seasons with the Clippers, who acquired him in a trade with the Houston Rockets in June 2017.  He played his first two seasons with the Rockets after they selected him in the second round (No. 32 overall) of NBA Draft 2015 presented by State Farm.  

This marks the third consecutive season and the fifth time in seven years that a member of the Clippers has received the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award.  Williams won the award in each of the previous two seasons, and Jamal Crawford did so with the Clippers in the 2013-14 and 2015-16 seasons.

The voting results for the 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award are below.  The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.  Complete ballots for each voter will be posted at after the announcement of all end-of-season awards.

Voting Totals: 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

Player (Team)1st Place Votes
(5 Points)
2nd Place Votes
(3 Points)
3rd Place Votes
(1 Point)
Total Points
Montrezl Harrell (LA Clippers)58345397
Dennis Schröder (Oklahoma City)354615328
Lou Williams (LA Clippers)71547127
Christian Wood (Detroit)03817
George Hill (Milwaukee)021117
Goran Dragić (Miami)0066
Derrick Rose (Detroit)0055
Davis Bertans (Washington)0022
Dwight Howard (L.A. Lakers)0011

Below is the list of all-time recipients of the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award.

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award Recipients

1982-83 – Bobby Jones, Philadelphia
1983-84 – Kevin McHale, Boston
1984-85 – Kevin McHale, Boston
1985-86 – Bill Walton, Boston
1986-87 – Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee
1987-88 – Roy Tarpley, Dallas
1988-89 – Eddie Johnson, Phoenix
1989-90 – Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee
1990-91 – Detlef Schrempf, Indiana
1991-92 – Detlef Schrempf, Indiana
1992-93 – Clifford Robinson, Portland
1993-94 – Dell Curry, Charlotte
1994-95 – Anthony Mason, New York
1995-96 – Toni Kukoc, Chicago
1996-97 – John Starks, New York
1997-98 – Danny Manning, Phoenix
1998-99 – Darrell Armstrong, Orlando
1999-00 – Rodney Rogers, Phoenix
2000-01 – Aaron McKie, Philadelphia
2001-02 – Corliss Williamson, Detroit
2002-03 – Bobby Jackson, Sacramento
2003-04 – Antawn Jamison, Dallas
2004-05 – Ben Gordon, Chicago
2005-06 – Mike Miller, Memphis
2006-07 – Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix
2007-08 – Manu Ginóbili, San Antonio
2008-09 – Jason Terry, Dallas
2009-10 – Jamal Crawford, Atlanta
2010-11 – Lamar Odom, L.A. Lakers
2011-12 – James Harden, Oklahoma City
2012-13 – J.R. Smith, New York
2013-14 – Jamal Crawford, LA Clippers
2014-15 – Lou Williams, Toronto
2015-16 – Jamal Crawford, LA Clippers
2016-17 – Eric Gordon, Houston
2017-18 – Lou Williams, LA Clippers
2018-19 – Lou Williams, LA Clippers
2019-20 – Montrezl Harrell, LA Clippers

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

If you are having difficulty accessing any content on this website, please visit our Accessibility page.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.