Kia Performance Awards 2019-20

Clippers' Montrezl Harrell wins 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

Thunder guard Dennis Schroder finishes 2nd, LA teammate Lou Williams snags 3rd

NEW YORK — LA Clippers forward-center Montrezl Harrell has won the 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award for his contributions in a reserve role, the NBA announced today. This is the first NBA Sixth Man Award for Harrell, who finished in third place last season.

Harrell received 58 first-place votes from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters and earned 397 total points. Oklahoma City Thunder guard Dennis Schröder finished in second place with 328 points (35 first-place votes). Clippers guard Lou Williams, a three-time Kia NBA Sixth Man Award winner, received the other seven first-place votes and finished in third place with 127 points.

Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. The voting was conducted based on regular-season games played through March 11. The seeding games, which were played July 30 – Aug. 14 as part of the season restart, did not count toward voting for the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award or the league’s other traditional end-of-season awards. To be eligible for the Sixth Man Award, players had to have come off the bench in more games than they started in games played through March 11.

From the beginning of the season through March 11, Harrell averaged 18.6 points, 7.1 rebounds and 1.14 blocked shots in 27.8 minutes in 63 games (two starts) as part of his fifth NBA season. In games played off the bench during that time, Harrell ranked second in the NBA in scoring (18.4 ppg) and fifth in rebounding (7.0 rpg). He also shot 58.0 percent from the field in all games played through March 11, the 10th-best mark in the NBA.

In games played off the bench through March 11, Harrell recorded an NBA-high 11 double-doubles, tied for first with four games of at least 30 points and ranked second with 10 games of 25 or more points. He scored 34 points off the bench twice, matching his single-game career high as a starter or reserve.

Led by Harrell and Williams, the Clippers averaged an NBA-high 51.5 points off the bench and outscored their opponents’ reserves in 53 of 64 games through March 11. LA posted a 44-20 record during that period, the second-best mark in the Western Conference.

Harrell, 26, has spent the last three seasons with the Clippers, who acquired him in a trade with the Houston Rockets in June 2017. He played his first two seasons with the Rockets after they selected him in the second round (No. 32 overall) of NBA Draft 2015 presented by State Farm.

This marks the third consecutive season and the fifth time in seven years that a member of the Clippers has received the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award. Williams won the award in each of the previous two seasons, and Jamal Crawford did so with the Clippers in the 2013-14 and 2015-16 seasons.

The voting results for the 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award are below. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP. Complete ballots for each voter will be posted at after the announcement of all end-of-season awards.

Voting Totals: 2019-20 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

Player (Team) 1st Place Votes

(5 Points)

2nd Place Votes

(3 Points)

3rd Place Votes

(1 Point)

Total Points
Montrezl Harrell (LA Clippers) 58 34 5 397
Dennis Schröder (Oklahoma City) 35 46 15 328
Lou Williams (LA Clippers) 7 15 47 127
Christian Wood (Detroit) 0 3 8 17
George Hill (Milwaukee) 0 2 11 17
Goran Dragić (Miami) 0 0 6 6
Derrick Rose (Detroit) 0 0 5 5
Davis Bertans (Washington) 0 0 2 2
Dwight Howard (L.A. Lakers) 0 0 1 1

Below is the list of all-time recipients of the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award.

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award Recipients

1982-83 – Bobby Jones, Philadelphia

1983-84 – Kevin McHale, Boston

1984-85 – Kevin McHale, Boston

1985-86 – Bill Walton, Boston

1986-87 – Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee

1987-88 – Roy Tarpley, Dallas

1988-89 – Eddie Johnson, Phoenix

1989-90 – Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee

1990-91 – Detlef Schrempf, Indiana

1991-92 – Detlef Schrempf, Indiana

1992-93 – Clifford Robinson, Portland

1993-94 – Dell Curry, Charlotte

1994-95 – Anthony Mason, New York

1995-96 – Toni Kukoc, Chicago

1996-97 – John Starks, New York

1997-98 – Danny Manning, Phoenix

1998-99 – Darrell Armstrong, Orlando

1999-00 – Rodney Rogers, Phoenix

2000-01 – Aaron McKie, Philadelphia

2001-02 – Corliss Williamson, Detroit

2002-03 – Bobby Jackson, Sacramento

2003-04 – Antawn Jamison, Dallas

2004-05 – Ben Gordon, Chicago

2005-06 – Mike Miller, Memphis

2006-07 – Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix

2007-08 – Manu Ginóbili, San Antonio

2008-09 – Jason Terry, Dallas

2009-10 – Jamal Crawford, Atlanta

2010-11 – Lamar Odom, L.A. Lakers

2011-12 – James Harden, Oklahoma City

2012-13 – J.R. Smith, New York

2013-14 – Jamal Crawford, LA Clippers

2014-15 – Lou Williams, Toronto

2015-16 – Jamal Crawford, LA Clippers

2016-17 – Eric Gordon, Houston

2017-18 – Lou Williams, LA Clippers

2018-19 – Lou Williams, LA Clippers

2019-20 – Montrezl Harrell, LA Clippers