Top Stories

Kings coach Mike Brown named NBCA Coach of the Year

The Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award is voted on by the head coaches of all 30 teams.

Mike Brown is in his first season as coach of the Sacramento Kings.

New York — Sacramento Kings Head Coach Mike Brown is the 2023 recipient of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award, the National Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

The Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award recognizes the dedication, commitment, and hard work of NBA Head Coaches and is presented annually to a Head Coach who helps guide his players to a higher level of performance on the court and shows outstanding service and dedication to the community off the court. It honors the spirit of Mr. Goldberg, the esteemed long-time Executive Director of the NBCA, who set the standard for loyalty, integrity, love of the game, passionate representation, and tireless promotion of NBA coaching. The award is unique in that it is voted upon by the winners’ peers, the Head Coaches of all 30 NBA teams.

All told, 5 Head Coaches received votes, once again reflecting the depth of coaching excellence in the NBA. In addition to Brown, the following Head Coaches also received votes [listed alphabetically]: Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks; Mark Daigneault, Oklahoma City Thunder; Joe Mazzulla, Boston Celtics; and Tom Thibodeau, New York Knicks.

“Congratulations to Mike Brown on one of the greatest coaching jobs we’ve ever seen in this league,” said Indiana Pacers Head Coach and NBCA President Rick Carlisle. “He completely changed the attitude and vibe of the Kings franchise and fan base, launching them into an amazing new era of success.”

Coach Brown, in his first season as Head Coach of the Kings, led the team to its first playoff berth since 2006, ending the longest playoff drought in NBA history and the longest active non-playoff streak in North American professional sports.

The Kings captured their first Pacific Division title since 2003 and finished with a record of 48-34, an 18 game improvement over last season and the best turnaround in the NBA this season. Sacramento finished with a 25-16 record on the road, the best road winning percentage in the Western Conference.

The Kings are in the playoffs for just the eleventh time in the 38 years since relocating to Sacramento in 1985.

Coach Brown quickly transformed a relatively young team into one of the most prolific offensive teams in the NBA. The Kings led the league in scoring, averaging 120.7 ppg. They also led the NBA in offensive rating at 118.6, the highest one season rating since the NBA began keeping this statistic. In addition, the Kings ranked in the Top Ten in numerous offensive categories, including:

  • First in offensive efficiency at 1.159;
  • First in true shooting percentage at 60.8%;
  • Second in effective field goal percentage at 57.2%;
  • Second in field goal percentage at 49.4%;
  • Third in assists at 27.3;
  • Second in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.02;
  • Third in assist ratio at 19.3;
  • Seventh in assist percentage at 62.6%;
  • Fourth in passes made at 299.4; and
  • Third in potential assists at 49.7

Coach Brown won Western Conference Coach of the Month honors for February, 2023.

“Receiving this award from my peers is especially meaningful and an honor that I truly embrace,” said Sacramento Kings Head Coach Mike Brown. “We have an incredible group of head coaches in the NBA, all of whom deserve to be recognized for their leadership as they execute their craft at the highest level every day. This award is incredibly special in my first year with the Kings. It is a reflection of the caliber of men that Monte McNair and Wes Wilcox have assembled and who I have absolutely loved coaching. I also want to recognize our medical staff, who have been an integral ingredient to our success and worked tirelessly to maximize our players’ health throughout the year. Additionally, our coaching staff has been invaluable in supporting our organization and working with my obsession for perfection. Lastly, this recognition is especially meaningful to me because it honors the legacy of Michael Goldberg – a personal friend who worked tirelessly for NBA coaches, always doing so with integrity and class.”

“Mike Brown is extremely deserving of this award and the recognition that comes with the Coach of the Year vote by his peers,” said David Fogel, NBCA Executive Director and General Counsel. “Coach Brown’s hard work, commitment and dedication to his craft and the development of his players led the Kings to a franchise-changing season. Mike embodies the same high levels of integrity and excellence that Michael displayed every day of his life. Congratulations to Coach Brown, the Kings Assistant Coaches, and the entire basketball staff on winning the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award.”

In 1980, just four years after the NBCA was founded, Goldberg became its first Executive Director. Building on the existing NBCA foundation, he guided the organization during the years of the greatest growth in professional basketball. He helped gain significant benefits for NBA Coaches, including increased retirement funds and disability insurance. Prior to the NBCA, Goldberg was General Counsel of the American Basketball Association.

The prior recipients of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award are:

  • 2022: Monty Williams
  • 2021: Monty Williams
  • 2020: Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan
  • 2019: Mike Budenholzer
  • 2018: Dwane Casey
  • 2017: Mike D’Antoni and Erik Spoelstra

The NBA will announce the NBA’s Coach of the Year later during the 2023 NBA Playoffs.