NEW YORK, April 25, 2008 – Grant Hill of the Phoenix Suns is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2007-08 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Hill, a 12-year veteran and the recipient of the 2004-05 Sportsmanship Award, was one of six divisional winners which included Detroit’s Antonio McDyess, Houston’s Shane Battier, Portland’s Brandon Roy, Toronto’s Chris Bosh and Washington’s Antawn Jamison. This marks the first time that a player has received the award more than once.

The NBA will donate $25,000 on behalf of Grant Hill to HopeKids, a non-profit organization based out of Phoenix which provides ongoing events and activities along with a support community for children with cancer and other life-threatening medical conditions to send the message that hope can be a powerful medicine.

The NBA will donate $10,000 each to the divisional winners’ charities of choice: America Red Cross for Hurricane Katrina relief efforts on behalf of McDyess; The Giving Fund on behalf of Battier; the Lenny Wilkens Foundation, which believes that every child deserves access to quality healthcare and the opportunity to receive a competitive education, on Roy’s behalf; The Toronto Raptors Foundation on behalf of Bosh; and Washington Sports and Entertainment Charities, Inc. to benefit local initiatives in the Washington, D.C. area on Jamison’s behalf.

For the fourth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth place vote received. Each team nominated one of its own players for this award, then former NBA players Mike Bantom, Eddie Johnson, Tom “Satch” Sanders, Kenny Smith and Steve Smith, the 2000-2001 Sportsmanship Award recipient, selected the six divisional winners.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship – ethical behavior, fair play and integrity – in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the leagues Jr. NBA and Jr. WNBA grassroots youth basketball program. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient.

Following is a list of this year’s voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:


Player, Team 1st2nd3rd4th5th6th Points
Grant Hill, Phoenix 90100603934212628
Shane Battier, Houston 7880592942562318
Brandon Roy. Portland 5951606747602064
Antonio McDyess, Detroit 4447556569641888
Antawn Jamison, Washington 3734598766611820
Chris Bosh, Toronto 3632515786821666


Inaugural: Joe Dumars (1996)
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-2001: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-05: Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-06: Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2006-07: Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-08: Grant Hill, Phoenix