Miami HEAT Win Three 2006 Suncoast Regional Emmy Awards

MIAMI, December 4 – The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) recognized the Miami HEAT, and local broadcasting partner Sun Sports, for programming and production excellence. The 2006 NBA Champion Miami HEAT, along with broadcast partner Sun Sports, won three awards for their commitment to quality programming following the recent 2006 Suncoast Regional Emmy Awards ceremony on Saturday, Dec. 2.

The Miami HEAT/Sun Sports won in the following categories:

Individual Craft Achievement: On Camera Talent – Program Host/Moderator
- Jason Jackson, Sun Sports

Outstanding Achievement – Editor, Sports
- Composite, Matthew R. Shedenhelm, Miami HEAT/Sun Sports
- HEAT Teases & Bumpers, Ted Ballard, Charlie Luken, AJ Speaks, Miami HEAT/Sun Sports

This is the fourth-consecutive year the HEAT has been recognized by the Suncoast Chapter of NATAS. Ballard has garnered nine Emmys during his eight-year tenure as a producer for the HEAT. In previous years, he was recognized in categories including graphic design, open animations, editing, promotion, directing game coverage and feature producing. This year marks the second award for Jackson, Luken and Speaks’ as members of the HEAT broadcasting team.

In addition, Chris Clark of WTVJ was honored with a Suncoast Regional Emmy for a Regularly Scheduled Daily or Weekly Sports Program for his work on ‘Access HEAT’.

The Suncoast Chapter of NATAS offers annual Emmy Awards in the SE region including the entire State of Florida, most of the State of Louisiana, areas of Alabama and Georgia and Puerto Rico.