Pistons Scheduled To Play In Toshiba Vegas Summer League

League Will Feature Games Against Washington, Phoenix, New York, L.A. Clippers And Boston

Amir Johnson and Jason Maxiell will play in the Toshiba Vegas Summer League for a second summer.
Noah Graham (NBAE/Getty)
AUBURN HILLS, Mich. – The Detroit Pistons announced today that the club will participate in the Toshiba Vegas Summer League. The 16-team league will be held July 6-14 at COX Pavilion on the campus of University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Current Pistons’ players Jason Maxiell, Amir Johnson and Alex Acker are scheduled to play along with 2006 second-round draft selection Will Blalock. Cheikh Samb, the 51st overall pick in the 2006 NBA Draft, who was acquired from the Los Angeles Lakers in exchange for Maurice Evans will also attend.

Four of Detroit’s five games will be televised by NBA TV on a tape-delay basis. Detroit vs. Phoenix (July 10) will be aired on July 14 at 12 midnight, Detroit vs. New York (July 11) will be aired on July 17 at 1 a.m., Detroit vs. L.A. Clippers (July 13) will be aired on July 20 at 9 p.m. and Detroit vs. Boston (July 14) will be aired on July 21 at 10:30 p.m. For more information on the Toshiba Vegas Summer League visit www.vegassummerleague.com.

Games featuring Washington, Phoenix, New York, L.A. Clippers and Boston will be open to the media and general public. For media credentials, please contact the Detroit Pistons Media Relations Department at (248) 377-0135. Following is the Pistons schedule for summer league:

July 8 Detroit Pistons vs. Washington Wizards 2:00 p.m. PST
July 10 Phoenix Suns vs. Detroit Pistons 6:00 p.m. PST
July 11 Detroit Pistons vs. New York Knicks 6:00 p.m. PST
July 13 L.A. Clippers vs. Detroit Pistons 5:00 p.m. PST
July 14 Boston Celtics vs. Detroit Pistons 1:00 p.m. PST

Following is the Pistons Summer League Roster:

6 Alex Acker G 6-5 185 Pepperdine 1 year 1 year
1 Rodney Billups G 5-10 165 Denver none none
10 Will Blalock G 6-0 205 Iowa State none none
12 Nik Caner-Medley F 6-8 240 Maryland none none
8 Sam Hoskin F 6-8 245 DePaul none none
25 Amir Johnson F 6-9 210 Westchester HS (Los Angeles) 1 year 1 year
17 Marko Jovanovic C 7-0 248 Serbia & Montenegro none none
54 Jason Maxiell F 6-7 260 Cincinnati 1 year none
23 Rick Rickert F 6-11 235 Minnesota none 2 years
18 Cheikh Samb C 7-1 195 Senegal none none
9 Wayne Wallace C 6-9 215 Virginia Union none none
7 Mateen Cleaves G 6-2 205 Michigan State 4 years 1 year
5 Rasheim Wright G 6-3 190 District of Columbia none 1 year

Don Zierden, Mount Senario
Ron Harper, Miami (Ohio)
Bill Pope, Kansas
Kevin Wilson, Ashland
Paul Rivers, Michigan State

Mike Abdenour, Wayne State

Dave Boyer, Wayne State