Print RSS

Grizzlies announce 2012-13 schedule

Grizzlies to be featured in franchise-record 15 National TV games.

Joe Murphy/NBAE/Getty Images

MEMPHIS, July 26, 2012 – Coming off a second-straight postseason berth, the Memphis Grizzlies will tip-off their 12th season in Memphis (18th overall) on the road against their 2012 NBA Playoff opponent, the Los Angeles Clippers, on Wednesday, Oct. 31 at 9:30 p.m. at STAPLES Center.  After concluding a season-opening two-game road trip on Friday, Nov. 2 at Golden State, the Grizzlies will open their home slate by hosting the Utah Jazz on Monday, Nov. 5 at 7 p.m. at FedExForum.

Memphis will be featured on national television a franchise-record 15 times this season (seven on ESPN, one on TNT, seven on NBA TV), including the 11th annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day Game against the Indiana Pacers on ESPN on Monday, Jan. 21 at noon at FedExForum.  Other nationally-televised home games include tilts withCarmelo Anthony and the New York Knicks on Friday, Nov. 16 at 8:30 p.m. and the regular season finale against the Utah Jazz on Wednesday, April 17 at 7 p.m., both on ESPN. 

Beginning with the home opener with the Jazz, the Grizzlies will play nine of 12 at FedExForum, including a meeting with LeBron James and the defending NBA Champion Miami Heat on Sunday, Nov. 11.  Memphis will host the Los Angeles Lakers and their new backcourt of Kobe Bryant and Steve Nash as part of a season-long five-game homestand from Nov. 19-30.

Memphis fans looking to relive last season’s playoff rivalry will get their chance when the Los Angeles Clippers return to the Bluff City for two rematches on Monday, Jan. 14 and Saturday, April 13.

The 11th annual MLK Jr. Day Game against the Pacers will begin a four-game home stand that also features the Lakers’ second trip to Memphis on Wednesday, Jan. 23, the new-look Brooklyn Nets on Friday, Jan. 25 and the New Orleans Hornets with 2012 No. 1 overall draft pick Anthony Davis on Sunday, Jan. 27.

FedExForum will host several other marquee matchups throughout the season, including when Kevin Durant and the reigning Western Conference Champion Oklahoma City Thunder (Wednesday, March 20) and the Boston Celtics (Saturday, March 23) pay their only visits to Memphis.  Division rivals such as the San Antonio Spurs (Friday, Jan. 11 and Monday, April 1), the Jeremy Lin-led Houston Rockets (Friday, Nov. 9 and Friday, March 29) and the Dallas Mavericks (Friday, Dec. 21 and Wednesday, Feb. 27) will make two appearances apiece.  New Orleans will play a second game in Memphis on Saturday, March 9.

Memphis will host Tyreke Evans and the Sacramento Kings on Tuesday, Feb. 12 in the Grizzlies’ final game before the 2013 NBA All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Feb. 17 at the Toyota Center in Houston.

Overall, Memphis will play 21 of its 41 home games on the weekend – including 13 on Friday, five on Saturday and three on Sunday – and have 18 back-to-back sets.  Eleven of the Grizzlies’ 17 games in the month of March will come on the road, including a season-long four-game road trip from March 12-16.

The 2012 preseason schedule, as well as a regular season local broadcast schedule, will be released at a later date.  A copy of the complete 2012-13 Grizzlies regular season schedule is attached (all times Central).

Grizzlies fans who want an entire season of grit, grind and great matchups can purchase 2012-13 Season Tickets starting at just $11 per game by calling (901) 888-HOOP or by visiting Grizzlies.com for more information.  Tickets for the Plaza IV and Terrace IV sections are already sold out. 

2012-13 GRIZZLIES REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE BREAKDOWN

Month

Total Games

Home Games

Away Games

October

1

0

1

November

13

9

4

December

14

7

7

January

17

8

9

February

11

7

4

March

17

6

11

April

9

4

5

       

Day

Total Games

Home Games

Away Games

Sunday

7

3

4

Monday

13

8

5

Tuesday

6

4

2

Wednesday

20

8

12

Thursday

1

0

1

Friday

22

13

9

Saturday

13

5

8

       

All-Star Break

Total Games

Home Games

Away Games

Pre-All Star Break

51

29

22

Post-All Star Break

31

12

19

       

Longest Homestand

5 games

Nov. 19-30

 

Longest Road Trip

4 games

March 12-16

 

Back-to-Back Sets

18