P.J. Tucker dives for a ball against the Los Angeles Clippers at US Airways Center.
(Photo by Barry Gossage/NBAE via Getty Images)
Posted: April 7, 2013

PHOENIX – Suns forward P.J. Tucker was presented with the 2012-13 Majerle Hustle Award tonight (April 7) during a pregame presentation prior to the Suns-Hornets game at US Airways Center.

The award is presented at the end of each season to the Suns player who most personified the hustle and determination that Suns Ring of Honor member Dan Majerle displayed as a player.

A video presentation featuring Majerle, who was unable to attend the Suns game tonight, was shown to fans as Tucker received his award.

“P.J. embodies the spirit of the Majerle Hustle Award and I could not be more proud of him as this year’s winner,” said Ring of Honor member Dan Majerle. “His dedication, hard work ethic and drive have led to his continued improvement throughout the season and I know he will only get better and better.”

The winner of the 2013 Majerle Hustle Award was selected based on the results of five voting categories: Suns fans, Suns players, Suns coaches, Suns employees and Majerle himself. Each voting group carried equal weight in the final selection.

In addition to the award, a $9,000 donation will be made to the charity of Tucker’s choice.

Past Majerle Hustle Award winners include:

  • Sebastian Telfair (2012)
  • Grant Hill (2011)
  • Jared Dudley (2010)
  • Louis Amundson (2009)
  • Grant Hill (2008)
  • Leandro Barbosa (2007)
  • Raja Bell (2006)
  • Shawn Marion (2005)
  • Casey Jacobsen (2004)
  • Bo Outlaw (2003 – Inaugural award)