Suns News

Suns Frye to Compete in 2010 Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout

Channing Frye will be attempting to become the first center to win the Three-Point Shootout at All-Star Weeend in Dallas on Feb. 13.
(NBAE/Getty Images)
Posted: Feb. 4, 2010

Suns center Channing Frye joins 2010 All-Stars Chauncey Billups of the Denver Nuggets and Paul Pierce of the Boston Celtics, headlining a field of six in this year’s Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 13, at American Airlines Center in Dallas as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night. Reigning champion Daequan Cook of the Miami Heat returns in an attempt to become the sixth player to capture consecutive titles.

Rounding out the field are T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam invitees Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors and Danilo Gallinari of the New York Knicks.

Cook bested the Orlando Magic’s Rashard Lewis in last year’s contest, scoring 19 points in an overtime round to walk away with the title. Mark Price, Jeff Hornacek, Jason Kapono and Peja Stojakovic each won two titles; Larry Bird and Craig Hodges captured three straight.

Dallas hosted the inaugural Three-Point event in 1986, which was held in Reunion Arena, with Bird defeating Hodges in the final round.

The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2010 commemorative blue and silver “money ball” worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance.

The Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout will be televised live nationally as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night, which will also feature the Sprite Slam Dunk; Taco Bell Skills Challenge; and Haier Shooting Stars. TNT and ESPN Radio’s national coverage will begin at 8 p.m. EST from American Airlines Center. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 14, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries and will be broadcast in more than 40 languages.

Foot Locker, in its seventh year as the sponsor of the three-point shootout, is part of Foot Locker, Inc., a specialty athletic retailer that operates approximately 3,600 stores in 21 countries in North America, Europe and Australia. Through its Foot Locker, Footaction, Lady Foot Locker, Kids Foot Locker and Champs Sports retail stores, as well as its direct-to-customer channel, the Company is the leading provider of athletic footwear and apparel.


Chauncey Billups, Denver
88-212 .415 1,520-3,904 .389
Daequan Cook, Miami
27-90 .300 259-723 .358
Stephen Curry, Golden State
78-182 .429 78-182 .492
Channing Frye, Phoenix
119-272 .438 139-342 .406
Danilo Gallinari, New York
126-313 .403 158-385 .410
Paul Pierce, Boston
77-165 .467 1,435-3,878 .370
(Statistics through games of Thursday, Feb. 4)


1986 - Larry Bird, Boston
1987 - Larry Bird, Boston
1988 - Larry Bird, Boston
1989 - Dale Ellis, Seattle
1990 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1991 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1992 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1993 - Mark Price, Cleveland
1994 - Mark Price, Cleveland
1995 - Glen Rice, Miami
1996 - Tim Legler, Washington
1997 - Steve Kerr, Chicago
1998 - Jeff Hornacek, Utah
2000 - Jeff Hornacek, Utah
2001 - Ray Allen, Milwaukee
2002 - Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2003 - Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2004 - Voshon Lenard, Denver
2005 - Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
2006 - Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2007 - Jason Kapono, Miami
2008 - Jason Kapono, Toronto
2009 - Daequan Cook, Miami