The Pelican Blog

John Wall puts his signature on Sprite Slam Dunk Contest

By: John DeShazier,, @JohnDeShazier

The Eastern Conference trio of Washington guard John Wall, Indiana forward Paul George and Toronto forward Terrence Ross combined to win the 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest on Saturday night, with Wall’s show-stopper providing the exclamation point.

On Wall’s signature dunk, he stationed the Wizards mascot under the basket and as the mascot held the ball aloft over his head, Wall ran up from behind on the right side of the lane, jumped, took the ball midair while sailing over the mascot’s head, and threw down a reverse slam to bring the Smoothie King Center crowd to its feet.

The Eastern Conference team defeated the Western Conference trio comprised of Sacramento guard Ben McLemore, Portland guard Damian Lillard and Golden State forward Harrison Barnes. It was the first time the dunk contest was decided in a team format, rather than an individual winner. Wall’s dunk, however, was voted dunk of the night.