Stephen Curry Wins 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award

May 5, 2011
Stephen Curry Wins 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award

Curry was one of six finalists for the NBA's 2010-11 Sportsmanship Award.

Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Curry (Pacific) was one of six divisional winners, which included Charlotte’s D.J. Augustin (Southeast), Chicago’s Luol Deng (Central), New Jersey’s Deron Williams (Atlantic), Portland’s LaMarcus Aldridge (Northwest), and San Antonio’s George Hill (Southwest).

Curry received 88 first-place votes (2,445 total points) of a possible 347. The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Curry to Habitat For Humanity East Bay, which uses volunteers to build affordable homes in Alameda and Contra Costa counties.

For the seventh consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award.

Former NBA players Rolando Blackman, John Crotty, Mark Jackson, and Eddie Johnson selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The NBA will make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner’s charities of choice: Communities Foundation of Texas on behalf of Aldridge; Addie's Angels and Smyles for Myles (donation will be split evenly) on behalf of Augustin; Luol Deng Foundation on behalf of Deng; Point of Hope Foundation on behalf of Williams; and George Hill Rising Stars Foundation on behalf of Hill.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient.


Inaugural: Joe Dumars (1996)
1996-1997: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-1998: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-1999: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000 : Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-2001: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-2002: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-2003: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-2004 : P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-2005 : Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-2006 : Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-2007 : Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-2008: Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns
2008-2009: Chauncey Billups, Denver Nuggets
2009-2010: Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns
2010-2011: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors


Sign up and be the first to know when tickets become available and receive presale access.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter