In a collective effort to support youth working towards the goal of higher education, Bay Area professional sports franchises, including the Golden State Warriors, Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders, San Francisco 49ers, San Francisco Giants, San Jose Earthquakes and San Jose Sharks, have teamed up for the 22nd year of the Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team (BAASST). As part of this program (the first of its kind among professional sports organizations) seven high school seniors have been selected to each receive a $5,000 scholarship. Since its inception, over $400,000 has been given to local students to be applied toward their college education.

Each Bay Area sports franchise will recognize the seven Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team recipients in a ceremony this year.

The 2019 BAASST recipients are Sami Abas Hamidi of Clayton Valley Charter High School (Oakland A’s), Gabriel Reuter of Sir Francis Drake High School (Oakland Raiders), Jacquelin Velazquez of Emery High School (Golden State Warriors), Nicole Liu of Capuchino High School (San Francisco 49ers), Assata Gui'Chard of Gateway High School (San Francisco Giants), Mallory Wayman of Ann Sobrato High School (San Jose Earthquakes), and Charles Yun of Saratoga High School (San Jose Sharks).

Students were selected from high schools within ten Bay Area counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano and Sonoma. Each high school was provided with information about this scholarship and was encouraged to nominate candidates that met the following criteria: a minimum grade point average of 3.0, displays leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field and demonstrates the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.

Congratulations 2019 BAASST Winners!

Recent Warriors BAASST Recipients

2019 Jacquelin Velazquez Emery High School Emeryville
2018 Arturo Guitron San Leandro High School San Leandro
2017 Taylor Bazile San Leandro High School San Leandro
2016 Mahala Heron-Rutland Oakland High School Oakland
2015 Armando Negrete Encinal High School Alameda
2014 Aaliyah Douglas Oakland Technical School Oakland
2013 Claire Williams Amador Valley High School Pleasanton
2012 Osayande Aihie San Leandro High School San Leandro
2011 Beatriz Cuevas Emery High School Emeryville
2010 Hilary Vance San Leandro High School San Leandro
2009 Tyrone Radford Castlemont Business, Information and Technology School Oakland
2008 Marika Zumbro Oakland Technical School Oakland
2007 Ayano Kohlgruber Livermore High School Livermore
2006 Sara Heaps Encinal High School Alameda

  • Facebook
  • Twitter