David Sherman/NBAE/Getty Images

Wolves Radio Play-By-Play Announcer Alan Horton Nominated for 2016 Minnesota State Sportscaster of the Year

by Timberwolves PR

Minneapolis/St. Paul – Minnesota Timberwolves Radio Play-by-Play Announcer Alan Horton has been nominated for Minnesota State Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association (NSMA). The nomination is Horton’s first in his 10-year career as the radio voice of the Wolves.

Finalists were nominated by NSMA members in each state who nominated up to three people for each category. The top two vote-getters (plus ties) are placed on the final ballot in the state categories and the top ten (plus ties) go on the National ballot, which will be voted on by NSMA members throughout December. Balloting will end at 4pm CST on December 31st. Winners will be notified and announced in January. The NSMA consists of over 800 leading sportscasters and sportswriters throughout the country.

Nominees for Minnesota Sportscaster of the Year

• Mike Grimm, Gopher Sports Properties/Learfield, Minneapolis
• Alan Horton, Timberwolves Radio Network, Minneapolis
• Anthony LaPanta, Fox Sports North/Wild TV, Minneapolis
• Cory Provus, Go 96.3 Twins Radio Network, Minneapolis
• Mark Rosen, WCCO-TV, Minneapolis

About Alan Horton

Horton is in the midst of his 10th season as the play-by-play announcer for the Minnesota Timberwolves. In addition, he served as the voice of the Minnesota Lynx for seven years, including their run to the 2011 and 2013 WNBA Titles. He came to the Timberwolves and Lynx after spending the 2007 WNBA season calling Seattle Storm games for Seattle radio, as well as serving as the executive producer of the Seattle SuperSonics radio network.

A native of Massachusetts, Horton spent 10 years in Southern California as a sports broadcaster on both radio and television. In addition to his time with the Timberwolves, Lynx and Storm, his play-by-play experience includes the San Diego Padres, San Diego State University football, men’s and women’s basketball and baseball, as well as high school football and basketball.

About The National Sports Media Association

Headquartered in Salisbury, NC, the National Sports Media Association membership consists of approximately 800 leading sportscasters and sportswriters from throughout the country. More than 80 sports media legends have been inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame, which began in 1962 with the induction of Grantland Rice. The NSMA hosts an awards weekend each spring that honors a Sportscaster of the Year and Sportswriter of the Year from each state, as well as a National Sportscaster and Sportswriter of the Year. A Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place at this time as well.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter