On February 12, 2009, the NAACP marked its 100th anniversary. Spurred by growing racial violence in the early twentieth century, and particularly by 1908 race riots in Springfield, Illinois, a group of African-American leaders joined together to form a new permanent civil rights organization, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). February 12, 1909, was chosen because it was the centennial anniversary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln.
Supreme Court Justice:
Thurgood Marshall was the first African American ever appointed to the U.S. Supreme Court. He was appointed by President Lyndon B. Johnson, and served on the court from 1967 to 1991.
First Senator:
Hiram Rhodes Revels was the first African American ever elected to the U.S. Senate. He represented the state of Mississippi from February 1870 to March 1871.
First Woman Representative:
Shirley Chisholm was the first African American woman elected to the House of Representatives. She was elected in 1968 and represented the state of New York. She broke ground again four years later in 1972 when she was the first major party African-American candidate and the first female candidate for president of the United States.
Self-Made Millionaire:
Madam C.J. Walker was born on a cotton plantation in Louisiana and became wealthy after inventing a line of African-American hair care products. She established Madame C.J. Walker Laboratories and was also known for her philanthropy.
Into Space:
In 1992, Dr. Mae Jemison became the first African American woman to go into space aboard the space shuttle Endeavor. During her eight-day mission, she worked with U.S. and Japanese researchers, and was a co-investigator on a bone cell experiment.
White House:
In 2009, Barack Obama became the first African-American president in U.S. history. He occupied the White House for two consecutive terms, serving from 2009 to 2017.
Custom Kicks
In celebration of Black History Month, the Suns commissioned three talented designers to create custom BHM-themed sneakers for several Suns players featuring personalized designs inspired by their input. The participating players will debut their custom kicks throughout February. Click the link below to purchase a pair of these one-of-a-kind sneakers and support a worthy cause.
Kelly Oubre Jr.
By: Jim Sherwood
Josh Jackson
By: Billy Hobbs
Mikal Bridges
By: Billy Hobbs
Richaun Holmes
By: Malcolm Garret
Deandre Ayton
By: Jim Sherwood
De'Anthony Melton
By: Jim Sherwood

  • Facebook
  • Twitter