true ios true ios true android false computer $upper($url_encode($(QUERY_STRING{'bypassCountry'}))) NONE $url_encode($(GEO{'country_code'})) $url_encode($(GEO{'country_code'})) $(bpc) true true false


NEW YORK, May 9, 2016 – San Antonio Spurs General Manager R.C. Buford has been named the 2015-16 NBA Basketball Executive of the Year, the NBA announced today.  Buford, in his 14th season as the team’s general manager, previously won the award in 2013-14.  Buford totaled 77 points and received nine of 29 first-place votes from a panel of fellow team basketball executives throughout the NBA.  The Portland Trail Blazers’ Neil Olshey finished second with 63 points (10 first-place votes), and 2014-15 winner Bob Myers of the Golden State Warriors was third with 38 points (five first-place votes).  Executives were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. Buford assembled a roster that produced the best record in franchise history (67-15).  The Spurs won at least 50 games for the 17th consecutive season and captured their fifth Southwest Division title in the past six years.  San Antonio finished the regular season 40-1 at home, matching the NBA record set by the 1985-86 Boston Celtics. Fueled by two-time reigning Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio led the NBA in points allowed (92.9 ppg) and defensive rating (96.6 points per 100 possessions).  Leonard, acquired by San Antonio on draft night in 2011, also averaged a career-high 21.2 points, ranked third in the NBA in three-point field goal percentage (44.3) and earned his first All-Star selection.  He re-signed with the Spurs last July, just as Tim Duncan, Danny Green and Manu Ginobili did. Also in July, San Antonio’s salary-cap management enabled Buford and Head Coach/President Gregg Popovich to sign free agent LaMarcus Aldridge to a team that went 55-27 in the 2014-15 season.  Aldridge averaged 18.0 points and a team-high 8.5 rebounds and shot a career-high 51.3 percent from the field in his first season with the Spurs, earning his fifth consecutive All-Star selection.    San Antonio’s moves for this season also included signing two-time All-Star David West, three-time Serbian Super League MVP Boban Marjanovic and undrafted rookie Jonathon Simmons, who was the MVP of the championship game at Samsung NBA Summer League 2015.  All three players, along with 2014 first-round pick Kyle Anderson, contributed to the Spurs’ bench, which led the NBA in net rating (outscoring opponents by 10.9 points per 100 possessions) and ranked third in scoring (39.2 ppg). Buford joined the Spurs in 1988 and spent four seasons as an assistant coach.  He worked as an assistant coach with the Los Angeles Clippers in the 1992-93 season and was an assistant coach with the University of Florida in the 1993-94 season.  He returned to the Spurs in 1994 and held the positions of head scout, director of scouting and vice president/assistant general manager before becoming general manager in July 2002.  Buford was named president of sports franchises for Spurs Sports & Entertainment in 2008, a role that includes his work with the Spurs as well as oversight of sports administration for the WNBA’s San Antonio Stars, the NBA Development League’s Austin Spurs and the San Antonio Rampage of the American Hockey League. Below are the voting results for the 2015-16 NBA Basketball Executive of the Year.  The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP. 2015-16 NBA BASKETBALL EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR VOTING RESULTS Executive, Team                          1st           2nd          3rd           TotalR.C. Buford, San Antonio         9             10           2             77Neil Olshey, Portland                   10           3             4             63Bob Myers, Golden State             5             4             1             38Masai Ujiri, Toronto                      2             2             2             18Rich Cho, Charlotte                      1             2             6             17Danny Ainge, Boston                   1             2             2             13David Griffin, Cleveland              --             3             1             10Stan Van Gundy, Detroit             --             1             3             6Pat Riley, Miami                           --             1             3             6Sam Presti, Oklahoma City           1             --             --             5Sam Hinkie, Philadelphia              --             1             2             5Wes Wilcox, Atlanta                     --             --             1             1John Hammond, Milwaukee         --             --             1             1Dennis Lindsey, Utah                   --             --             1             1 ALL-TIME NBA BASKETBALL EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNERS

1972-73     Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha1973-74  Eddie Donovan, Buffalo1974-75  Dick Vertlieb, Golden State1975-76  Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1976-77  Ray Patterson, Houston1977-78  Angelo Drossos, San Antonio1978-79  Bob Ferry, Washington1979-80  Red Auerbach, Boston1980-81  Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1981-82  Bob Ferry, Washington1982-83  Zollie Volchok, Seattle1983-84  Frank Layden, Utah1984-85  Vince Boryla, Denver1985-86  Stan Kasten, Atlanta1986-87  Stan Kasten, Atlanta1987-88  Jerry Krause, Chicago1988-89  Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1989-90  Bob Bass, San Antonio1990-91  Bucky Buckwalter, Portland1991-92  Wayne Embry, Cleveland   1992-93  Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1993-94  Bob Whitsitt, Seattle1994-95  Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers1995-96  Jerry Krause, Chicago                       1996-97  Bob Bass, Charlotte1997-98  Wayne Embry, Cleveland1998-99  Geoff Petrie, Sacramento1999-00  John Gabriel, Orlando2000-01  Geoff Petrie, Sacramento2001-02  Rod Thorn, New Jersey2002-03  Joe Dumars, Detroit2003-04  Jerry West, Memphis2004-05  Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix2005-06  Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers2006-07  Bryan Colangelo, Toronto2007-08  Danny Ainge, Boston2008-09  Mark Warkentien, Denver2009-10  John Hammond, Milwaukee2010-11  Gar Forman, Chicago (tie)               Pat Riley, Miami (tie)2011-12  Larry Bird, Indiana2012-13  Masai Ujiri, Denver2013-14  R.C. Buford, San Antonio2014-15  Bob Myers, Golden State2015-16  R.C. Buford, San Antonio