Allen Wins NBA Sportsmanship Award
Despite a deadly shooting touch, Ray Allen maintains the highest standards of sportsmanship on the floor.
Jeff Reinking/NBAE/Getty Images

Seattle Sonics guard Ray Allen is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2002-03 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today. Originally presented following the 1995-96 season, the Sportsmanship Award honors a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons All-Star guard Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient.

Allen, who was traded to the Sonics along with Kevin Ollie and Ronald Murray on Feb. 20, is the second Seattle player to win the Sportsmanship Award, joining Hersey Hawkins, who won the award following the 1998-99 season.

A three-time NBA All-Star, Allen was one of four divisional finalists that included New York Knicks guard Allan Houston from the Atlantic Division, New Orleans forward P.J. Brown, who represented the Central Division for the second consecutive year (last year with Charlotte), and Dallas Mavericks guard Michael Finley representing the Midwest Division. Each team nominated one of its own players for the award and former NBA players Walt Frazier, Mike Glenn, Tommy Heinsohn, Eddie Johnson, Gil McGregor and Ed Pinckney selected the divisional winners.

Allen received a total of 519 total points, including 38 first-place votes out of a possible 116 votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Players were awarded seven points for each first-place vote, five points for each second-place vote, three for third and one for each fourth-place vote received. Houston finished second with 485 points, Brown was third with 480 points and Finley ended fourth with 372 points.

The NBA will donate $25,000 on behalf of Allen to the Ray of Hope Foundation, and another $10,000 each to the charities of choice for Houston, Brown and Finley. Houston’s donation will be made to the National Mentoring Partnership. Brown’s will go to the P.J. and Dee Brown Foundation while Finley’s award will benefit the Michael Finley Basketball Camps.

Player 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Total
Ray Allen, Seattle 38 31 26 20 519
Allan houston, New York 30 36 22 29 485
P.J. Brown, New Orleans 30 29 34 23 480
Michael Finley, Dallas 18 20 34 44 372

All-time NBA Sportsmanship Award winners:
1995-96 Joe Dumars, Detroit
1996-97 Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98 Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99 Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-00 Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01 David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02 Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03 Ray Allen, Seattle