Allen Named to All-Interview First Team
Ray Allen received more votes than any other player for the All-Interview Team
Jeff Reinking/NBAE/Getty Images

Seattle SuperSonics guard Ray Allen was named to the NBA’s All-Interview First Team for the third consecutive season, the NBA Public Relations Directors Association (NBAPRDA) announced today. With 38 votes, Allen led all NBA players in balloting for the award. Joining Allen on the first team are a pair of Los Angeles Lakers, center Shaquille O’Neal (26 votes) and forward Rick Fox (24), Utah forward Karl Malone (22) and Sacramento forward Chris Webber (20). Doc Rivers (41) was overwhelmingly selected as the First-Team coach.

Minnesota forward Kevin Garnett and Orlando guard Tracy McGrady (19 votes apiece) lead the All-Interview Second Team. Clippers forward Elton Brand (18), Lakers guard Kobe Bryant (17) and Houston rookie center Yao Ming (16) round out the Second Team. Milwaukee’s George Karl (14) was named the Second-Team coach.

Allen, acquired by the Sonics in a February trade, is known as one of the NBA’s best players off the court. Earlier this year, he was named the Pacific Division winner of the Joe Dumars Sportsmanship Award.

Two other Sonics players were tabbed by voters. Guard Brent Barry, a First-Team selection last year, received 13 votes this year. Guard Kevin Ollie, acquired with Allen, got two votes. Sonics Coach Nate McMillan was named on three ballots.

A total of 91 players and 18 coaches were named on at least one of the 113 ballots cast. The voting panel consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada who regularly cover the NBA. They were asked to vote for a coach and five players, without regard to position, based on their accessibility and ability to provide informative and interesting quotes.

Ray AllenSonics38
Shaquille O’NealL.A. Lakers26
Rick FoxL.A. Lakers24
Karl MaloneUtah22
Chris WebberSacramento20
Coach Doc RiversOrlando41

Kevin GarnettMinnesota19
Tracy McGradyOrlando19
Elton BrandL.A. Clippers18
Kobe BryantL.A. Lakers17
Yao MingHouston16
Coach George KarlMilwaukee14

Other players receiving votes: Michael Jordan, Washington, 15; Jalen Rose, Chicago, 15; Avery Johnson, Dallas, 14; Steve Kerr, San Antonio, 14; Charles Oakley, Washington, 14; Brent Barry, Seattle, 13; Vlade Divac, Sacramento, 12; Steve Nash, Dallas, 11; David Robinson, San Antonio, 11; Sam Cassell, Milwaukee, 10; Jamal Mashburn, New Orleans, 8; Jerry Stackhouse, Washington, 8; Steve Francis, Houston, 7; P.J. Brown, New Orleans, 6; Anfernee Hardaway, Phoenix, 6; Richard Jefferson, New Jersey, 6; Shane Battier, Memphis, 5; Allen Iverson, Philadelphia, 5; Jason Kidd, New Jersey, 5; Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana, 5; Gary Payton, Milwaukee, 5; Jon Barry, Detroit, 4; Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 4; Adonal Foyle, Golden State, 4; Stephon Marbury, Phoenix, 4; Malik Rose, San Antonio, 4; Latrell Sprewell, New York, 4; Maurice Taylor, Houston, 4; Gilbert Arenas, Golden State, 3; Darrell Armstrong, Orlando, 3; Ron Artest, Indiana, 3; LaPhonso Ellis, Miami, 3; Reggie Miller, Indiana, 3; Clifford Robinson, Detroit, 3; Eric Snow, Philadelphia, 3; Wally Szczerbiak, Minnesota, 3; Shareef Abdur-Rahim, Atlanta, 2; Derek Anderson, Portland, 2; Doug Christie, Sacramento, 2; Antonio Davis, Toronto, 2; Kendall Gill, Minnesota, 2; Bobby Jackson, Sacramento, 2; Mark Jackson, Utah, 2; Todd MacCulloch, Philadelphia, 2; Aaron McKie, Philadelphia, 2; Cuttino Mobley, Houston, 2; Kevin Ollie, Seattle, 2; Scottie Pippen, Portland, 2; Michael Redd, Milwaukee, 2; Jason Terry, Atlanta, 2; Nick Van Exel, Dallas, 2; Scott Williams, Phoenix, 2; Kenny Anderson, New Orleans, 1; Bruce Bowen, San Antonio, 1; Derrick Coleman, Philadelphia, 1; Jason Collins, New Jersey, 1; Michael Curry, Detroit, 1; Michael Doleac, New York, 1; Derek Fisher, LA Lakers, 1; Grant Hill, Orlando, 1; Fred Hoiberg, Chicago, 1; Allan Houston, New York, 1; Antawn Jamison, Golden State, 1; Ervin Johnson, Milwaukee, 1; Mark Madsen, LA Lakers, 1; Desmond Mason, Milwaukee, 1; Troy Murphy, Golden State, 1; Dikembe Mutombo, New Jersey, 1; Edjuardo Najera, Dallas, 1; Charles “Bo” Outlaw, Phoenix, 1; Scott Padgett, Utah, 1; Paul Pierce, Boston, 1; Mo Peterson, Toronto, 1; Brian Scalabrine, New Jersey, 1; Brian Shaw, LA Lakers, 1; Joe Smith, Minnesota, 1; Steve Smith, San Antonio, 1; John Stockton, Utah, 1; Kurt Thomas, New York, 1; Antoine Walker, Boston, 1; Ben Wallace, Detroit, 1.

Other coaches receiving votes: Hubie Brown, Memphis, 7; Larry Brown, Philadelphia, 7; Isiah Thomas, Indiana, 5; Rudy Tomjanovich, Houston, 5; Jerry Sloan, Utah, 4; Doug Collins, Washington, 3; Nate McMillan, Seattle, 3; Don Nelson, Dallas, 3; Byron Scott, New Jersey, 3; Phil Jackson, LA Lakers, 2; Flip Saunders, Minnesota, 2; Paul Silas, New Orleans, 2; Rick Adelman, Sacramento, 1; Rick Carlisle, Detroit, 1; Eric Musselman, Golden State, 1; Gregg Popovich, San Antonio, 1.