Yao Ming Named All-NBA Third Team

Yao Ming Named All-NBA Third Team

Official Press Release

HOUSTON, May 17 – Houston Rockets center Yao Ming was named to the 2005-06 All-NBA Third Team, which was announced today by the NBA as part of the All-NBA Team announcement. This marks Yao’s second All-NBA Team honor, as he was also a part of the 2003-04 All-NBA Third Team.

Yao (7-6, China), who stood as the top scoring center in the NBA in 2005-06, averaged 22.3 points and 10.2 rebounds in 57 games. He set career bests in scoring and rebounding averages, topping his previous career highs of 18.3 points in 2004-05 and 9.0 rebounds in 2003-04. The last Rockets player to average 20 points and 10 rebounds in a season was Hakeem Olajuwon in 1995-96 (26.9 points, 10.9 rebounds). Yao was one of only four players in the NBA to average at least 20 points and 10 rebounds in 2005-06. He also led the Rockets in free throw percentage this season (.853, 337-395 FT).

With career highs in double-doubles (34) and 30-point games (10), Yao was also named Western Conference Player of the Week twice in 2005-06. He was first honored with Western Conference Player of the Week for games played Feb. 21-26. Yao averaged 26.7 points on .553 shooting and 15.7 rebounds to lead the Rockets to victories over the Clippers, Warriors and Magic. His second Western Conference Player of the Week came for games played Mar. 27-Apr. 2. Yao led the Rockets to a 2-1 week, averaging 33.3 points on .625 shooting and 12.3 rebounds.

Below is a look at the all-time list of Rockets to earn All-NBA Team selection:


First Team

1979 Moses Malone

1982 Moses Malone

1987 Hakeem Olajuwon

1988 Hakeem Olajuwon

1989 Hakeem Olajuwon

1993 Hakeem Olajuwon

1994 Hakeem Olajuwon

1997 Hakeem Olajuwon

Second Team

1980 Moses Malone

1981 Moses Malone

1985 Ralph Sampson

1986 Hakeem Olajuwon

1990 Hakeem Olajuwon

1984 Ralph Sampson

1996 Hakeem Olajuwon

Third Team

1991 Hakeem Olajuwon

1995 Hakeem Olajuwon

1995 Clyde Drexler

1999 Hakeem Olajuwon

2004 Yao Ming

2005 Tracy McGrady

2006 Yao Ming